Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Original Sin Details


A lonely man's search for companionship soon takes him to dangerous and unexpected places in this erotically charged drama. Luis Antonio Vargas (Antonio Banderas) is a successful coffee salesman living in Cuba in the 1880s. Luis has had little luck finding love among the women of his native island, and he sends away to America for a mail-order bride. To his pleasant surprise, his fiancée from the United States, Julia Russell (Angelina Jolie), turns out to be not only beautiful but passionate and devoted. But Luis' happiness proves to be short-lived when he learns that Julia is not the person he imagined her to be, and detective Walter Downs (Thomas Jane) appears, trying to get to the bottom of Julia's mysterious past and possibly deadly secrets. Original Sin is based on the novel Waltz Into Darkness by Cornell Woolrich, which Francois Truffaut previously adapted for the screen as La Sirene du Mississippi. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:July 31, 2001


Antonio Banderas
as Luis Antonio Vargas
Angelina Jolie
as Julia Russell
Thomas Jane
as Walter Downs
Jack Thompson
as Alan Jordan
Gregory Itzin
as Colonel Worth
Allison Mackie
as Augusta Jordan
John Pringle
as Sara
Cordelia Richards
as Emily Russell
Pedro Armendariz, Jr.
as Jorge Cortés
M. Martinez
as Cuban Priest
Harry Porter
as Stage Manager
Fernando Torre Lapham
as Wedding Priest
Shaula Vega
as Dressmaker Girl
Lisa Owen
as Margareta (Stage)
Daniel Martinez
as Rafael
Farnesio DeBernal
as Bank Clerk
Nitzi Arellano
as Prostitute
Roger Cudney
as Ship's Captain
Francis Laboriel
as Ship's Stewardess
Patricio Castilla
as French Dining Steward
Derek Rojo
as Bell Boy
Abraham Stavans
as Mr. Gutiérrez
Roberto Medina
as Card Player
Julian Sedgwick
as Card Player
Alejandro Corp
as Card Player
Alejandro Reza
as Train Station Man
Julio Bracho
as Guard
George Belanger
as Gentlemen in Morocco
Osami Kawano
as Gentlemen in Morocco


Michael Cristofer
Denise Di Novi
Kate Guinzburg
Michael Cristofer
Rodrigo Prieto
Terence Blanchard
Composer (Music Score)
Eric Sears
David J. Bomba
Production Designer
Jorge Sainz
Art Director
Edward L. McDonnell
David Hoberman
Executive Producer
Sheldon Abend
Executive Producer
Ashok Amritraj
Executive Producer
Donna Zakowska
Costume Designer
Antonio Betancourt
Sound/Sound Designer
Junie Lowry-Johnson
Libby Goldstein
Michael S. Glick
Line Producer