Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Island in the Sun Details


Political intrigue and romantic gamesmanship send an already torrid Caribbean community to the boiling point in this drama. Maxwell Fleury (James Mason) and David Boyeur (Harry Belafonte) are two men running for political office in a British-controlled island in the West Indies. Maxwell is the son of a wealthy and socially prominent white family, while David is a black labor leader with a groundswell of popular support but little money. A scandal erupts in the press alleging that Maxwell is of mixed racial ancestry, but Maxwell is actually pleased about the news, thinking that it may endear him to black voters. Maxwell is not pleased, however, when he hears that his wife Sylvia (Patricia Owens) has been having an affair with the urbane but rootless Carson (Michael Rennie), taking the matter seriously enough to murder Carson himself. Maxwell's younger sister Jocelyn (Joan Collins) is also in hot water, romantically speaking; she has set her sights on Eun Templeton (Stephen Boyd), the son of the Island's governor, and she hopes to snare him into marriage by allowing him to get her pregnant. Elsewhere on the island, David is secretly having an affair with a white woman, Mavis Norman (Joan Fontaine), while David's former girlfriend, Margot Seaton (Dorothy Dandridge), has become involved with a white man, Denis Archer (John Justin). Based on the novel by Alex Waugh, Island in the Sun also features songs from Harry Belafonte, including "Lead Man Holler" and the title tune. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi


James Mason
as Maxwell Fleury
Joan Fontaine
as Mavis Norman
Dorothy Dandridge
as Margot Seaton
Joan Collins
as Jocelyn Fleury
Michael Rennie
as Hilary Carson
Harry Belafonte
as David Boyeur
Diana Wynyard
as Mrs. Fleury
Stephen Boyd
as Eun Templeton
Patricia Owens
as Sylvia Fleury
Basil Sydney
as Julian Fleury
John Justin
as Denis Archer
Ronald Squire
as The Governor
Hartley Power
as Bradshaw


Robert Rossen
Darryl F. Zanuck
Alec Waugh
Book Author
Freddie Young
Harry Belafonte
Malcolm Arnold
Composer (Music Score)
Irving Burgess
Reginald Beck
David Ffolkes
Costume Designer