Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • The Devil's Rejects

At Home
  • Scissors

  • Calendar Girl

  • Deadly Intent

  • The Stars Fell on Henrietta

  • Not Quite Hollywood: The Wild, Untold Story...

  • Torchlight

  • Neo Ned

  • Intermedio

  • King of the Lost World

  • The Devil's Rejects

1 of 10

Steve Railsback Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jan 1, 1947
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Before underappreciated character actor Steve Railsback became a fixture in the direct-to-video market, he studied with [[Performer~P68625~Lee Strasberg~leestrasberg]] and spent a decade acting on the N.Y.C. theater circuit. His made his film debut in [[Performer~P96965~Elia Kazan~eliakazan]]'s 1972 crime thriller [[Feature~V115692~The Visitors~thevisitors]], and followed that up with a role in the 1974 action drama [[Feature~V10143~Cockfighter~cockfighter]]. His first major film role was as the cult leader [[Performer~P318167~Charles Manson~charlesmanson]] in the 1976 CBS movie [[Feature~V22134~Helter Skelter~helterskelter]], based on the book by [[Performer~P366785~Vincent Bugliosi~vincentbugliosi]]. He starred opposite [[Performer~P43272~Sophia Loren~sophialoren]] in the barely released Canadian film [[Feature~V2377~Angela~angela]] and opposite [[Performer~P4427~Kim Basinger~kimbasinger]] in the six-hour romantic miniseries [[Feature~V18739~From Here to Eternity~fromheretoeternity]]. His last mainstream starring role was in the 1980 offbeat action movie [[Feature~V47481~The Stunt Man~thestuntman]], as a fugitive who stumbles onto the set of a fictional movie directed by [[Performer~P53681~Peter O'Toole~peterotoole]] and starring [[Performer~P32030~Barbara Hershey~barbarahershey]]. The movie developed a bit of a cult following, and as a result Railsback developed a small but appreciative audience.

Throughout the remainder of the '80s, Railsback thrived as a leading man in the special area of low-budget B-movies seen mostly on cable or home video. Some schlocky favorites include the British sci-fi horror flick [[Feature~V29280~Lifeforce~lifeforce]] and the Australian action movie [[Feature~V16018~Escape 2000~turkeyshoot]]. A few exceptions to his action-filled resumé are the family drama [[Feature~V20198~The Golden Seal~thegoldenseal]] and the period comedy [[Feature~V86415~Calender Girl~calendergirl]]. In the '90s he tried producing and screenwriting while also playing recurring psychopath Duane Barry on FOX's [[Feature~V163252~The X-Files~thexfiles[tvseries]]]. He made his directorial debut in 1994 with [[Feature~V149845~The Spy Within~thespywithin]], an erotic thriller starring [[Performer~P27245~Scott Glenn~scottglenn]] and [[Performer~P62255~Theresa Russell~theresarussell]]. In 1997 he joined the cast of the FOX sci-fi drama series The Visitor for a season. In 2000 he returned to playing sicko psychopaths as the title character in the creepy biopic [[Feature~V242402~Ed Gein~edgein]]. In addition to portraying the farmer-turned-serial killer, he also served as executive producer. He stayed with the horror genre for his next appearance in the South African movie [[Feature~V288188~Slash~slash]] (2002). ~ Andrea LeVasseur, Rovi

Advertisement