Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Paddington

At Home
  • Paddington

  • Godzilla

  • The Double

  • Blue Jasmine

  • All Is Bright

  • Submarine

  • Jane Eyre

  • Made in Dagenham

  • Never Let Me Go

  • Desert Flower

1 of 10

Sally Hawkins Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jan 1, 0001
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

British actress Sally Hawkins parlayed her English refinement into an extremely varied series of roles beginning in the early 2000s -- including occasional crime-themed action pictures, social-consciousness dramas, and contemporary suspensers. She took one of her first international bows as a 19th century lesbian in the U.K. miniseries [[Feature~V286691~Tipping the Velvet~tippingthevelvet]] (2002), appeared as Slasher in [[Performer~P242866~Matthew Vaughn~matthewvaughn]]'s [[Performer~P242801~Guy Ritchie~guyritchie]]-influenced gangster film [[Feature~V306115~Layer Cake~layercake]] (2004), and played Susan, a pregnant rich girl desperate for an abortion, in [[Performer~P99264~Mike Leigh~mikeleigh]]'s searing, heart-wrenching character study [[Feature~V306438~Vera Drake~veradrake]] (2004). The actress then signed for one of the key roles in [[Performer~P79388~Woody Allen~woodyallen]]'s European thriller [[Feature~V353472~Cassandra's Dream~cassandrasdream]]. She scored her greatest success so far reteaming with [[Performer~P99264~Mike Leigh~mikeleigh]] for 2008's Happy-Go-Lucky. Her work earned her a number of year end critics awards including the New York Film Critics award for Best Actress. She followed that up with a small part in the Best Picture nominee An Education, playing a teacher in the sci-fi drama Never Let Me Go, and playing the unlikely leader of a worker's revolt in the British period piece Made in Dagenham. She appeared in the quirky romantic comedy Submarine, and played Mrs. Reed in the well-reviewed 2011 adaptation of Jane Eyre. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

Advertisement