Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Liu Ye doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • Saving Mr. Wu

  • Police Story: Lockdown

  • Sacrifice

  • City of Life and Death

  • Dark Matter

  • Jasmine Woman

  • Curse of the Golden Flower

  • The Promise

  • Purple Butterfly

  • The Foliage

1 of 10

Liu Ye Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jan 1, 0001
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

A Chinese actor who specialized in quietly effective, psychologically complex roles (nearly always in dramas), Liu Ye first took his onscreen bow during the late '90s, but didn't achieve international crossover success until 2005, with the U.S. release of [[Performer~P111432~Dai Sijie~daisijie]]'s period comedy drama-cum-film à clef [[Feature~V266091~Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress~balzacandthelittlechineseseamstress]]. In that film, Liu tackled one of the lead roles; he played Ma, one of two young men sent to a mountain village during the 1970s Chinese Cultural Revolution and instilled with Maoist principles. Even the Western critics who responded negatively to the film singled out Liu's fine work in it, thus paving the way for many additional assignments.

Liu succeeded [[Feature~V266091~Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress~balzacandthelittlechineseseamstress]] by teaming up with numerous acclaimed Chinese filmmakers, including [[Performer~P203592~Lou Ye~louye]] ([[Feature~V288979~Purple Butterfly~purplebutterfly]], 2003), [[Performer~P204850~Hou Yong~houyong]] ([[Feature~V317568~Jasmine Woman~jasminewoman]], 2004), and [[Performer~P117624~Zhang Yimou~zhangyimou]] ([[Feature~V353855~Curse of the Golden Flower~curseofthegoldenflower]], 2006), then took his Hollywood bow under the aegis of Chinese-American director [[Performer~P418612~Chen Shi-Zeng~chenshizheng]], with a lead in the 2007 [[Feature~V316636~Dark Matter~darkmatter]], opposite [[Performer~P68676~Meryl Streep~merylstreep]] and [[Performer~P58261~Aidan Quinn~aidanquinn]]. In that film, based on a true story, Liu played a Chinese student who travels to the United States and tries to advance his theory of dark matter, but finds his attempts complicated by political concerns -- which soon leads to devastating tragedy. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

Advertisement