Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Gina Bellman doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • Zerophilia

  • Married/Unmarried

  • King David

  • Silent Trigger

  • Paranoid

  • 7 Days To Live

1 of 6

Gina Bellman Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jul 10, 1966
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

From the outset of her career, sloe-eyed British actress Gina Bellman exuded an alluring, exotic appeal that recalled the glamorous screen sirens of Hollywood's Golden Age. She first achieved fame by virtue of her collaboration with the English playwright-cum-scriptwriter/director [[Performer~P106930~Dennis Potter~dennispotter]], in whose overtly sexual and explicit [[Feature~V226473~Blackeyes~blackeyes]] she starred. In that controversial outing, Bellman played the sexual abuse victim of the title -- an imaginary character within the context of the film. The choice of project (given its content) marked a bold move for the actress, but an intelligent one given [[Performer~P106930~Potter~dennispotter]]'s peerless reputation and the respect afforded him in the English film industry. More importantly, it succeeded in turning spectators' and critics' heads toward Bellman in the very best way.

Intriguingly, Bellman had no educational or industry experience as an actress when she auditioned for [[Feature~V226473~Blackeyes~blackeyes]] (1990), shy of a role as King David's daughter in [[Performer~P81500~Bruce Beresford~bruceberesford]]'s critically maligned Biblical epic [[Feature~V27387~King David~kingdavid]] (1985). The daughter of Russian-Jewish-Polish parents, born in New Zealand, Bellman grew up with a father who worked in retail and a homemaker mother. The family immigrated to London before Bellman's 11th birthday, and within a year, she discovered a passion for acting and soon began attending auditions. After [[Feature~V226473~Blackeyes~blackeyes]], parts came quickly and furiously, marked by the actress' intriguing, distinguished choice of projects on-stage, in features, and on television. Some of her higher-profile endeavors included the eccentric Jewish-themed feature comedy [[Feature~V132945~Leon the Pig Farmer~leonthepigfarmer]] (1992), a theatrical role in [[Performer~P100953~David Mamet~davidmamet]]'s Speed-the-Plow, and an ongoing turn as the flighty, hare-brained man-hunter Jane Christie on the BBC's wildly popular (and extremely explicit) sex comedy series [[Feature~V299000~Coupling~coupling[tvseries]]] (2000).

In 2006, Bellman signed for a supporting role in director [[Performer~P487281~Martin Curland~martincurland]]'s raunchy sci-fi comedy [[Feature~V359448~Zerophilia~zerophilia]], while the following year, she co-starred opposite [[Performer~P52274~James Nesbitt~jamesnesbitt]] in the BBC miniseries [[Feature~V399754~Jekyll~jekyll]], an unusual revisionist version of [[Performer~P315061~Robert Louis Stevenson~robertlouisstevenson]]'s classic novel Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. In the years to come, Bellman would remain an active force on screen, most notably on shows like Leverage. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

Advertisement