Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Zabriskie Point Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Zabriskie Point, director [[Performer~P79780~Michelangelo Antonioni~michelangeloantonioni]]'s only American film, is an unusual, visually stunning examination of youthful rebellion against the Establishment. The film, initially presented in quasi-documentary style, presents a group of college activists discussing key issues of their political agenda. Mark ([[Performer~P24904~Mark Frechette~markfrechette]]) steals an airplane and flies over a desert where he meets Daria ([[Performer~P29886~Daria Halprin~dariahalprin]]). She is the pot-smoking secretary to businessman Lee Allen ([[Performer~P70089~Rod Taylor~rodtaylor]]), while he is a rebel searching for a worthy cause. In the midst of the arid surroundings, Mark and Daria fall in love. [[Performer~P1927~Antonioni~jimantonio]]'s nonrealistic approach to American counterculture myths, his loose and sluggish narrative, and the dialogue (credited to [[Performer~P201798~Fred Gardner~fredgardner]], [[Performer~P111142~Sam Shepard~samshepard]], [[Performer~P92817~Tonino Guerra~toninoguerra]], [[Performer~P106057~Clare Peploe~clarepeploe]], and Antonioni) caused Zabriskie Point to be poorly received when it was first released. The score features songs from Pink Floyd, The Grateful Dead, [[Performer~P96622~Kaleidoscope~kaleidoscope]], The Rolling Stones, [[Performer~P137341~John Fahey~johnfahey]], The Youngbloods and [[Performer~P54678~Patti Page~pattipage]]. ~ Linda Rasmussen, Rovi

  • Release date:February 9, 1970

Cast

Mark Frechette
as Mark
Daria Halprin
as Daria
Rod Taylor
as Lee Allen
G.D. Spradlin
as Lee Allen's Associate
Kathleen Cleaver
as Kathleen
Paul Fix
as Cafe Owner
Ben Hammer
Bill Garaway
as Morty
Harrison Ford
as Airport worker [uncredited]

Crew

Michelangelo Antonioni
Director
Carlo Ponti
Producer
Harrison Starr
Screenwriter
Fred Gardner
Screenwriter
Tonino Guerra
Screenwriter
Clare Peploe
Screenwriter
Michelangelo Antonioni
Screenwriter
Sam Shepard
Screenwriter
Alfio Contini
Cinematographer
Roger Waters
Composer (Music Score)
Pink Floyd
Composer (Music Score)
David Gilmour
Composer (Music Score)
Jim Benson
Editor
Franco Arcalli
Editor
Dean Tavoularis
Production Designer
Harrison Starr
Executive Producer
George R. Nelson
Set Designer
Ray Summers
Costume Designer
Earl McCoy
Special Effects
Don Guest
Production Manager
Advertisement