Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Young Guns II Details


Only three of the original five "young guns" -- Billy the Kid (Emilio Estevez), Jose Chavez y Chavez (Lou Diamond Phillips), and Doc Scurlock (Kiefer Sutherland) -- return in Young Guns II, which is the story of Billy the Kid and his race to safety in Old Mexico while being trailed by a group of government agents led by Pat Garrett (William Petersen). Along the way, Billy's crew gains three new recruits: Arkansas Dave Rudabaugh (Christian Slater), Tom O'Folliard (Balthazar Getty), and Hendry French (Alan Ruck). Though the film suffers from an uneven script, many performances -- particularly Slater's -- are surprisingly strong, and the movie looks great. The theme song, "Blaze of Glory," is performed by Jon Bon Jovi in his first solo appearance; the rocker also has a cameo in the film. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

  • Release date:August 1, 1990


Awarded by
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Jon Bon Jovi Best Original Song 1990 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Jon Bon Jovi Best Song 1990 Nominee


Emilio Estevez
as William H. Bonney/"Billy the Kid"
Kiefer Sutherland
as Doc Scurlock
Lou Diamond Phillips
as Chavez y Chavez
Christian Slater
as Arkansas Dave Rudabaugh
William Petersen
as Pat Garrett
Alan Ruck
as Hendry French
James Coburn
as John Chisum
R.D. Call
as D.A. Ryerson
Balthazar Getty
as Tom O'Folliard
Jack Kehoe
as Ashmun Upson
Lee de Broux
as Bounty Hunter
Walter Feldbusch
as Pit Inmate
Jerry Gardner
as Sheriff Kimbel
Rene L. Moreno
as Villager
Airen Balen
as Student
Tony Frank
as Judge Bristol
Tom Byrd
as Pit Inmate
William Upchurch
as Drunken Idiot
Bud Stout
as Poe Posse
Bo Gray
as Pit Inmate
Ted Kairys
as Town Dweller
Alina Arenal
as Sonia
Donald Guideau
as Pit Inmate
Redmond Gleeson
as Murphy Man
Holt Parker
as Sumner Priest
Sixto Joost
as Bounty Hunter
Domingo Ambriz
as Vaquero
Tom Kurlander
as J.W. Bell
Sonny Skyhawk
as Vaquero
Nicholas Sean Gomez
as Fernando
Jenny Wright
as Jane Greathouse
Ed Adams
as Poe Posse
Robert Harvey
as Townsman
Stephan Kraus
as Pietro
Ginger Lynn Allen
as Dove
Albert Trujillo
as Jesus Silva
John Fusco
as Branded Man
Robert Knepper
as Deputy Carlyle
Viggo Mortensen
as John W. Poe
Jon Bon Jovi
as Pit Inmate
Leon Rippy
as Bob Ollinger
Richard Schiff
as Rat Bag
John Alderson
as Guano Miner
Iris Pappas
as Barmaid
Bradley Whitford
as Charles Phalen
Scott Wilson
as Gov. Lew Wallace
Tracey Walter
as Beever Smith
Alexis Alexander
as Dove
Rudy Sena
as Bounty Hunter
Carlotta Garcia
as Deluvina Maxwell
Howie Young
as Poe Posse
Adam Taylor
as Bounty Hunter
Joy Bouton
as Juanita
John Hammil
as Pendleton


Geoff Murphy
Gary Barber
David Nicksay
John Fusco
Dean Semler
Jon Bon Jovi
Alan Silvestri
Composer (Music Score)
Bruce Green
Gene Rudolf
Production Designer
Christa Munro
Art Director
Irby Smith
Paul Schiff
Dixie J. Capp
Associate Producer
James G. Robinson
Executive Producer
John Fusco
Executive Producer
Joe Roth
Executive Producer
Andrew Bernard
Set Designer
Judy Ruskin
Costume Designer
Mickey Gilbert
Michael Chinich