Share

Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Young Frankenstein Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Lending his burlesque touch to 1970s genre revision, [[Performer~P83158~Mel Brooks~melbrooks]] followed his hit "western" [[Feature~V6029~Blazing Saddles~blazingsaddles]] with this parody of 1930s Universal horror movies. Determined to live down his family's reputation, Dr. Frederick Frankenstein (co-screenwriter [[Performer~P116771~Gene Wilder~genewilder]]) insists on pronouncing his name "Fronckensteen" and denies interest in replicating his grandfather's experiments. But when he is lured by Frau Blucher ([[Performer~P41211~Cloris Leachman~clorisleachman]]) to discover the tantalizingly titled journal "How I Did It" in his grandfather's castle, he cannot resist. With the help of voluptuous Inga ([[Performer~P26007~Teri Garr~terigarr]]), wall-eyed assistant Igor ([[Performer~P89528~Marty Feldman~martyfeldman]]), and a purloined brain, Frankenstein creates his monster ([[Performer~P82691~Peter Boyle~peterboyle]]). Igor, however, stole the wrong brain, and the monster tears off into the countryside, encountering a little girl and a blind hermit ([[Performer~P29486~Gene Hackman~genehackman]]). Frankenstein finds the monster and trains him to do a little "Puttin' On the Ritz" soft-shoe, but the monster escapes again, this time seducing Frankenstein's uptight fiancée Elizabeth ([[Performer~P36650~Madeline Kahn~madelinekahn]]) with his, ahem, sweet mystery. His love life and experiment in shambles, Frankenstein finally finds a way to create the being he had planned. Shooting in gleaming black-and-white, with sets and props from the 1930s and appropriate fright music by [[Performer~P103568~John Morris~johnmorris]], Brooks' cheeky attitude towards the Hollywood past attracted a large audience, turning it into one of the most popular 1974 releases after (what else?) [[Feature~V6029~Blazing Saddles~blazingsaddles]]. ~ Lucia Bozzola, Rovi

  • Release date:June 1, 1975

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Richard Portman Best Sound 1974 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Cloris Leachman Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy 1974 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Madeline Kahn Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role in a Motion Picture 1974 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Mel Brooks Best Adapted Screenplay 1974 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Gene Wilder Best Adapted Screenplay 1974 Nominee

Cast

Gene Wilder
as Dr. Frederick Frankenstein
Peter Boyle
as Monster
Marty Feldman
as Igor
Teri Garr
as Inga
Madeline Kahn
as Elizabeth
Cloris Leachman
as Frau Bluecher
Gene Hackman
as Blind Hermit
Monte Landis
as Gravedigger
Rolfe Sedan
Danny Goldman
as Medical Student
Lou Cutell
as Frightened Villager
Oscar Beregi
as Sadistic Jailer
Liam Dunn
as Mr. Hilltop
Leon Askin
as Herr Waldman
Kenneth Mars
as Inspector Kemp
Norbert Schiller
Mel Brooks
Michael Fox
Arthur Malet
as Village Elder
Richard Haydn
as Herr Falkstein
Lidia Kristen

Crew

Mel Brooks
Director
Michael Gruskoff
Producer
Mel Brooks
Screen Story
Mel Brooks
Screenwriter
Gene Wilder
Screenwriter
Gene Wilder
Screen Story
John C. Howard
Editor
Dale Hennesy
Production Designer
Richard Portman
Sound/Sound Designer
Jesse Wayne
Stunts
Mike Fenton
Casting
Jane Feinberg
Casting
William J. Tuttle
Makeup
Howard Brandy
Publicist
Advertisement