Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

X-Men: Days of Future Past Details


In order to prevent a grim future in which mutants and their human sympathizers are systematically hunted and killed by towering, unstoppable robots called Sentinels, Wolverine (Hugh Jackman) travels back in time to change the course of history in this sequel that finds Hugh Jackman and Hugh Jackman director Bryan Singer returning to the helm. The film opens in a dark and desolate future that was set in motion in 1973, when brilliant scientist Dr. Bolivar Trask (Peter Dinklage) created a series of giant robots called Sentinels for the sole purpose of wiping out mutants, whom he claimed were a direct threat to the human race. Although initially programmed solely to target mutants, the Sentinels soon began eradicating humans who possessed the DNA to breed mutants, and eventually, any mortal mutant sympathizers. Desperate, Prof. Xavier (Patrick Stewart) and Magneto (Ian McKellen) devise a plan to have Kitty Pryde (Ellen Page) send Wolverine back to the year when Mystique (Jennifer Lawrence) assassinated Trask -- it turns out that Mystique inadvertently accelerated the Sentinel program when she was subsequently captured by Sgt. William Stryker (Josh Helman), who succeeded at harvesting her DNA to make the robots more powerful than ever before.Upon arriving in the past, Wolverine quickly seeks out a much younger Charles Xavier (James McAvoy), as well as Beast (Nicholas Hoult) and Quicksilver (Evan Peters), and together they help break a young Magneto (Michael Fassbender) out of a heavily fortified prison cell hundreds of feet beneath the Pentagon. Meanwhile, with the help of Havok, Ink, Toad, and Spike, Mystique is already moving in for the kill. Although Wolverine, Beast, Charles, and Magneto manage to thwart the assassination, Charles and Magneto once again find themselves at odds after the latter attempts to alter the plan at the last moment, creating a mass panic during a post-Vietnam War peace summit in Paris. And Dr. Trask, still fuming from having had the Sentinel program rejected by Congress, takes his proposal directly to President Nixon (Mark Camacho), laying the groundwork for an even darker future than the one Wolverine was sent back to prevent. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:May 23, 2014


Awarded by
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Lou Pecora Best Visual Effects 2014 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Richard Stammers Best Visual Effects 2014 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Richard Stammers Best Visual Effects 2014 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Tim Crosbie Best Visual Effects 2014 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Tim Crosbie Best Visual Effects 2014 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Cameron Waldbauer Best Visual Effects 2014 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Cameron Waldbauer Best Visual Effects 2014 Nominee


Hugh Jackman
as Logan/Wolverine
James McAvoy
as Charles Xavier/Professor X
Michael Fassbender
as Erik Lensherr/Magneto
Jennifer Lawrence
as Mystique/Raven
Patrick Stewart
as Charles Xavier/Professor X
Ian McKellen
as Erik Lensherr/Magneto
Hugh Jackman
as Logan/Wolverine
Nicholas Hoult
as Hank McCoy/Beast
Peter Dinklage
as Bolivar Trask
Omar Sy
as Bishop
Fan Bingbing
as Blink
Daniel Cudmore
as Peter "Colossus" Rasputin
Evan Peters
as Quicksilver
Anna Paquin
as Rogue
Lucas Till
as Alex Summers/Havoc
Halle Berry
as Storm
Shawn Ashmore
as Bobby Drake/Iceman
Ellen Page
as Kitty Pryde
Evan Jonigkeit
as Toad
Josh Helman
as Stryker
Mark Camacho
as President Nixon
Mike Dopud
as Pinstripe Mafioso
Andreas Apergis
as Col. Sanders
Alex Ivanovici
as Quarantine Doctor
Alain Dahan
as Quarantine Doctor #2
Michael Lerner
as Senator Brickman
Chris Claremont
as Congressman Parker
Zabryna Guevara
as Trask Secretary
Zehra Leverman
as Ms. Maximoff
Kyle Gatehouse
as Pentagon Cook
Darryl Scheelar
as Armed Kitchen Guard
Johnny Tran
as Vietnamese Captain
Gregory Hlady
as General Petrov
Julian Casey
as Peace Summit Reporter
Robert Crooks
as Nixon Aide
Matt Cooke
as Secretary of Defense
Tim Post
as US Army General
Karine Vanasse
as French Emergency Nurse
Pierre LeBlanc
as French TV Reporter
Jude Beny
as Female Traveler
Arthur Holden
as Blue Suit Traveler
Sean Curley
as Airport Backpacker
John Moore
as White House Lawn Reporter
Neil Napier
as Secret Service Agent


Bryan Singer
Bryan Singer
Lauren Shuler-Donner
Simon Kinberg
Hutch Parker
Matthew Vaughn
Screen Story
Jane Goldman
Screen Story
Simon Kinberg
Screen Story
Simon Kinberg
Newton Thomas Sigel
John Ottman
Composer (Music Score)
John Ottman
John Myhre
Production Designer
Felix Lariviere-Charron
Art Director
Vincent Gingras-Liberali
Art Director
Michele Laliberte
Supervising Art Director
Kathleen McGill
Associate Producer
Josh McLaglen
Executive Producer
Todd Hallowell
Executive Producer
Stan Lee
Executive Producer
Raymond Larose
Set Designer
Brent Lambert
Set Designer
Lucie Tremblay
Set Designer
Jean-Andre Carriere
Set Designer
Louise Mingenbach
Costume Designer
Gordon Sim
Set Decorator
Warren Hendriks
Sound/Sound Designer
Craig Berkey
Sound/Sound Designer
Josh McLaglen
First Assistant Director
Gemma James
Production Manager
Roger Mussenden
Simon Poudrette
Sound Mixer
Daniel Auclair
Production Manager
Richard Stammers
Visual Effects Supervisor
Marc A. Rousseau
Visual Effects Producer
Michael Scherer
Stunts Coordinator
Raine Anderson
CG Supervisor
Ryan Chavez
Visual Effects Editor
Ollie Rankin
Visual Effects Supervisor
Craig Berkey
Supervising Sound Editor
Matt Sloan
Visual Effects Supervisor
Blondel Aidoo
Visual Effects Producer
Sheldon Stopsack
CG Supervisor
Ron Bartlett
Re-Recording Mixer
Patrick Rousseau
Sound Recordist
Thomas Younkman
Sound Effects Editor
Kathleen McGill
Unit Production Manager
Norma Hill-Patton
Department Head Makeup
Robin D'Arcy
Visual Effects Producer
Jeff Habberstad
Stunts Coordinator

Other movies like this