Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Wyatt Earp Details


Directed by Lawrence Kasdan, this epic version of the legendary western sheriff-gunslinger's life story stars Kevin Costner as Earp, who lived from 1848 to 1929. Growing up on a farm in Iowa, Earp tries to run away to join the Union Army in the Civil War, but he is turned away because of his youth. Instead, he studies law and marries Urilla Sutherland (Annabeth Gish). But Urilla dies of typhoid fever before they can have children. Earp grows despondent and descends into drinking and petty thievery, but his father Nicholas (Gene Hackman) finds him, sobers him up, and sets him straight. Earp becomes a buffalo hunter and a close companion of Bat Masterson (Tom Sizemore) and his brother Ed (Bill Pullman). With his brothers, Virgil (Michael Madsen) and Morgan (Linden Ashby), Earp sets out to clean up the violence-plagued towns of the old West -- by using his own guns to settle scores. Earp takes up with Mattie Blaylock (Mare Winningham), a drug addict and prostitute, then discards her for actress Josie Marcus (Joanna Going). In Tombstone, Arizona, the Earp brothers and their comrade Doc Holliday (Dennis Quaid), who is plagued by tuberculosis and a compulsion for gambling, meet their match in a ruthless gang led by Ike Clanton (Jeff Fahey). ~ Michael Betzold, Rovi


Awarded by
American Society of Cinematographers Owen Roizman Best Cinematography 1994 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Owen Roizman Best Cinematography 1994 Nominee


Kevin Costner
as Wyatt Earp
Dennis Quaid
as Doc Holliday
Gene Hackman
as Nicholas Earp
Jeff Fahey
as Ike Clanton
Mark Harmon
as Johnny Behan
Michael Madsen
as Virgil Earp
Catherine O'Hara
as Allie Earp
Bill Pullman
as Ed Masterson
Isabella Rossellini
as Big Nose Kate
Tom Sizemore
as Bat Masterson
JoBeth Williams
as Bessie Earp
Mare Winningham
as Mattie Blaylock
David Andrews
as James Earp
Linden Ashby
as Morgan Earp
Joanna Going
as Josie Marcus
James Gammon
as Mr. Sutherland
Rex Linn
as Frank McLaury
Randle Mell
as John Clum
Adam Baldwin
as Tom McLaury
Annabeth Gish
as Urilla Sutherland
Ian Bohen
as Young Wyatt
Betty Buckley
as Virginia Earp
Mary Steenburgen
John Lawlor
as Judge Spicer
Matt O'Toole
as Gyp Clements
Hugh Ross
as Erwin Sutherland
Ben Zeller
as Dr. Seger
Greg Goossen
as Friend of Bullwacker
Owen Roizman
as Danny
Gabriel Folse
as Billy Clanton
Jennifer Shull
Kris Kamm
as Billy Claiborne
Alison Elliott
as Lou Earp
James Caviezel
as Warren Earp
Brett Cullen
as Saddle Tramp
Jon Kasdan
as Bar Boy
Todd Allen
as Sherm McMasters
Boots Southerland
as Marshall White
Karen Grassle
as Mrs. Sutherland
Téa Leoni
as Sally
Billy Streater
as Marshall Meagher
Jack Kehler
as Bob Hatch
Rockne Tarkington
as Stable Hand
Martin Kove
as Ed Ross
MacKenzie Astin
as Young Man on Boat
Michael McGrady
as John Shanssey
John Furlong
as Clem Hafford
Steve Cormier
as Tent Saloon Bartender
John Dennis Johnston
as Frank Stillwell
Albert Trujillo
as Camp Foreman
Ellen Blake
as Paris
Steven Hartley
as Spangenberg
John Doe
as Tommy Behind-the-Deuce
David Doty
as Mayor Wilson
Adam Taylor
as Texas Jack
Luce Rains


Lawrence Kasdan
Lawrence Kasdan
Don Gordon
Kevin Costner
Jon Slan
Jim Wilson
Dan Gordon
Lawrence Kasdan
Richard Bowen
Owen Roizman
James Newton Howard
Composer (Music Score)
Carol Littleton
Ida Random
Production Designer
Gary Wissner
Art Director
Michael Grillo
Executive Producer
Charles Okun
Executive Producer
Dan Gordon
Executive Producer
Tom Reta
Set Designer
Barry Chusid
Set Designer
Cheryl Carasik
Set Designer
Colleen Atwood
Costume Designer
Stephen P. Dunn
First Assistant Director
Jennifer Shull