Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Wuthering Heights Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P316203~Emily Bronte~emilybrontë]]'s classic romance is given an austere, naturalistic interpretation in this adaptation from filmmaker [[Performer~P470286~Andrea Arnold~andreaarnold]], which strips the story of much of its dialogue and adds a racial component to the tale of forbidden love. Yorkshire landowner Mr. Earnshaw ([[Performer~P679688~Paul Hilton~paulhilton]]) brings a West Indian boy ([[Performer~P705049~Solomon Glave~solomonglave]]) to live on his property and earn his keep working on Earnshaw's farm, naming the youth Heathcliff. While Heathcliff is regarded with deep suspicion by Earnshaw's son Hindley ([[Performer~P513541~Lee Shaw~leeshaw]]), he strikes up a friendship with Earnshaw's daughter Catherine ([[Performer~P705050~Shannon Beer~shannonbeer]]) that grows stronger with time. After the death of Mr. Earnshaw, Hindley takes control of the farm, and Heathcliff chafes under Hindley's vicious treatment, running off to make his own way. In time, Catherine (now played by [[Performer~P609455~Kaya Scodelario~kayascodelario]]) grows into a beautiful woman, and Edgar Linton ([[Performer~P705048~James Northcote~jamesnorthcote]]), the son of a wealthy man, asks for her hand in marriage. Hindley approves of the match, but Catherine is torn when Heathcliff returns (now played by [[Performer~P696990~James Howson~jameshowson]]) as a self-made man. The affection Catherine and Heathcliff knew in their youth has grown into something deeper, but she isn't sure if she can defy her family in the name of love. Wuthering Heights received its world premiere at the 2011 Toronto International Film Festival. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:October 5, 2012

Cast

Kaya Scodelario
as Older Cathy
Steve Evets
as Joseph
Nichola Burley
as Isabella Linton
Oliver Milburn
as Mr. Linton

Crew

Andrea Arnold
Director
Kevin Loader
Producer
Douglas Rae
Producer
Robert Bernstein
Producer
Olivia Hetreed
Screenwriter
Olivia Hetreed
Screen Story
Andrea Arnold
Screenwriter
Robbie Ryan
Cinematographer
Nicolas Chaudeurge
Editor
Helen Scott
Production Designer
James Saynor
Co-producer
Tim Haslam
Executive Producer
Adam Kulick
Executive Producer
Hugo Heppell
Executive Producer
Tessa Ross
Executive Producer
Mark Woolley
Executive Producer
Nicolas Becker
Sound/Sound Designer
Gail Stevens
Casting
John Pardee
Casting
Des Hamilton
Casting
Rashad Omar
Sound Recordist
Louise Seymour
Post Production Supervisor
Rosa Romero
Line Producer
Advertisement