Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The World Is Not Enough Details


James Bond, the world's greatest secret agent, is sent once more into the breach in the name of Queen, Country, and a dry martini. In the 19th Bond adventure, 007 (Pierce Brosnan) must resolve a potentially deadly power struggle between two unstable nations, with control of the world's oil supply as the ultimate prize. Bond is assigned as bodyguard to Elektra King (Sophie Marceau), the daughter of a petroleum magnate who was brutally murdered, and is trying to foil the fiendish plot of Renard (Robert Carlyle), a villain who was shot in the head with an unusual result: he cannot feel physical pain, an apparent failing that proves to be a considerable asset. Denise Richards appears as Dr. Christmas Jones, an expert on nuclear weapons, alongside Desmond Llewelyn as Q, Judi Dench as M, Samantha Bond as Miss Moneypenny, and John Cleese as R. Alternative rock band Garbage performs the theme song. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:November 8, 1999


Pierce Brosnan
as James Bond
Sophie Marceau
as Elektra King
Robert Carlyle
as Renard
Denise Richards
as Christmas Jones
Robbie Coltrane
as Valentin Zukovsky
Judi Dench
as M
Desmond Llewelyn
as Q
John Cleese
as R
Maria Grazia Cucinotta
as Cigar Girl
Samantha Bond
as Miss Moneypenny
Michael Kitchen
as Tanner
Colin Salmon
as Robinson
David Calder
as Sir Robert King
Serena Scott Thomas
as Dr. Holly Warmflash
Ulrich Thomsen
as Davidov
Claude-Oliver Rudolph
as Colonel Akakievich
Omid Djalili


Michael Apted
Barbara Broccoli
Michael G. Wilson
Bruce Feirstein
Dana Stevens
Neal Purvis
Screen Story
Neal Purvis
Robert Wade
Robert Wade
Screen Story
Adrian Biddle
David Arnold
Composer (Music Score)
Jim Clark
Peter Lamont
Production Designer
Neil Lamont
Supervising Art Director
Simon Lamont
Art Director
Fred Hole
Art Director
Andrew Ackland-Snow
Art Director
Steve Lawrence
Art Director
Jim Morahan
Art Director
Mark Harris
Art Director
Nigel Goldsack
Associate Producer
Simon Wakefield
Set Designer
Lindy Hemming
Costume Designer
Chris Munro
Sound/Sound Designer
Gerry Gavigan
First Assistant Director
Debbie McWilliams
Mara Bryan
Visual Effects Supervisor
Simon Crane
Stunts Coordinator
Arthur Wooster
Additional Cinematography
Arthur Wooster
Second Unit Director
Don Lusher
Musical Performer
Anthony Waye
Line Producer
Vic Armstrong
Second Unit Director
Jonathan P.B. Taylor
Second Unit Director Of Photography
Richard Sharkey
Location Manager
John Richardson
Special Effects Supervisor
Chris Corbould
Special Effects Supervisor