Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Words Details


When shallow wannabe-writer Rory Jensen (Bradley Cooper) finds an old manuscript tucked away in a bag, he decides to pass the work off as his own. The book, called "The Window Tears," brings Rory great acclaim, until the real author (Jeremy Irons) shows up and threatens to destroy Rory's reputation. Cut to Clayton Hammond (Dennis Quaid), a writer whose popular novel "The Words" seems to mirror Rory's story, leading to speculation that the tome is Hammond's thinly veiled autobiography.

  • Release date:September 7, 2012


Bradley Cooper
as Rory Jansen
Jeremy Irons
as The Old Man
Dennis Quaid
as Clay Hammond
Olivia Wilde
as Daniella
Zoe Saldana
as Dora Jansen
Ben Barnes
as Young Man
John Hannah
as Richard Ford
Vito DeFilippo
as New York Apartment Doorman
Michael McKean
as Nelson Wylie
Lucinda Davis
as Vendor
J.K. Simmons
as Mr. Jansen
James Babson
as Dan Zuckerman
Ron Rifkin
as Timothy Epstein
Brian Klugman
as Jason Rosen
Nora Arnezeder
as Celia
Gianpaolo Venuta
as Dave Farber
Brent Skagford
as Soldier #2
Zeljko Ivanek
as Joseph Cutler
Leni Parker
as Journalist
David Gow
as Hotel Desk Clerk
Kathleen Fee
as Woman on the Bus
Jeanie Hackett
as Joyce Weinstein
Gordon Masten
as Elderly Man
Jude Beny
as Elderly Woman
Mark Camacho
as Fan


Brian Klugman
Michael Benaroya
Tatiana Kelly
Brian Klugman
Antonio Calvache
Marcelo Zarvos
Composer (Music Score)
Sonny Kompanek
Musical Arrangement
Leslie Jones
Michele Laliberte
Production Designer
Lisa Wilson
Executive Producer
Cassian Elwes
Executive Producer
Laura Rister
Executive Producer
Bradley Cooper
Executive Producer
Frederique Bolte
Set Decorator
Don Terry
First Assistant Director
Louis Craig
Special Effects Supervisor
Joel Dougherty
Supervising Sound Editor
Joel Dougherty
Re-Recording Mixer
Skip Lievsay
Re-Recording Mixer
Phil Barrie
Sound Effects Editor
Sherwood Jones
Music Editor
Corald Giroux
Key Hairstylist
Elizabeth Tremblay
Script Supervisor
Bill Rivard
Special Effects Coordinator
Simon Poudrette
Production Sound Mixer
James Gibb
Executive Music Producer
Jonathan Wenk
Still Photographer