Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Woodsman Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Writer/director [[Performer~P385945~Nicole Kassell~nicolekassell]] makes her feature film debut with the drama The Woodsman. Co-written by [[Performer~P385946~Steven Fechter~stevenfechter]], the original script won first place at the Slamdance Screenplay Competition in 2001. [[Performer~P3164~Kevin Bacon~kevinbacon]] plays Walter, a child molester who gets out of prison after serving a 12-year sentence. He returns to his old town and tries to start over by working at a woodyard. Fortunately, his brother-in-law ([[Performer~P8157~Benjamin Bratt~benjaminbratt]]) helps him get a place to live. He even strikes up a relationship with local gal Vickie ([[Performer~P3164~Bacon~kevinbacon]]'s real-life wife, [[Performer~P64284~Kyra Sedgwick~kyrasedgwick]]). However, Walter still struggles with his past and the suspicions of co-worker Mary-Kay ([[Performer~P329037~Eve~eve]]) and Detective Lucas ([[Performer~P264009~Mos Def~mosdef]]). The Woodsman premiered at the Sundance Film Festival in 2004 as part of the dramatic competition. ~ Andrea LeVasseur, Rovi

  • Release date:December 24, 2004

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Independent Spirit Awards Hannah Pilkes Best Debut Performance 2004 Nominee
Slamdance International Film Festival Nicole Kassell Best Script 2001 Winner
Boston Society of Film Critics Nicole Kassell Best New Filmmaker (Runner-up) 2004 Winner
Independent Spirit Awards Nicole Kassell Best First Feature 2004 Nominee
Slamdance International Film Festival Steven Fechter Best Script 2001 Winner
Independent Spirit Awards Kevin Bacon Best Actor 2004 Nominee

Cast

Kevin Bacon
as Walter
Kyra Sedgwick
as Vickie
Eve
as Mary-Kay
Mos Def
as Det. Lucas
David Alan Grier
as Bob
Michael Shannon
as Rosen
Benjamin Bratt
as Carlos
Hannah Pilkes
as Robin
Carlos Leon
as Pedro
Gina Philips

Crew

Nicole Kassell
Director
Lee Daniels
Producer
Nicole Kassell
Screenwriter
Steven Fechter
Screenwriter
Steven Fechter
Play Author
Xavier Pérez Grobet
Cinematographer
Linda Cohen
Musical Direction/Supervision
Nathan Larson
Composer (Music Score)
Brian A. Kates
Editor
Lisa Fruchtman
Editor
Stephen Beatrice
Production Designer
David C. Robinson
Co-producer
Valerie Hoffman
Co-producer
Lisa Cortes
Co-producer
Candice Williams
Associate Producer
Damon Dash
Executive Producer
Dawn Lenfest
Executive Producer
Marvet Britto
Executive Producer
Kevin Bacon
Executive Producer
Brook Lenfest
Executive Producer
Christine Wick
Set Designer
Frank Fleming
Costume Designer
Thomas Fatone
First Assistant Director
Suzanne Smith
Casting
Mark Bennett
Casting
Billy Hopkins
Casting
Kerry Barden
Casting
Advertisement