Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Wo Die Grünen Ameisen Träumen Details


In a slightly padded but well-acted and relevant drama, an Australian mining company and a group of aboriginals go to court to settle a dispute over sacred land that the company wants to mine. When the Ayers Mining Company sets out to begin construction of its mine with bulldozers and earth-movers, the Aboriginals physically block the work because the site is exactly where the green ants will gather to dream (a 40,000-year-old legend) and it cannot be disturbed. The company tries the usual means of getting their way -- through bribes and arguments -- but nothing budges the men who came to defend the land. Once in court, it is quickly apparent that tribal laws and customs and beliefs are very different than Western laws -- and how the issue will be resolved is sticky indeed. ~ Eleanor Mannikka, Rovi


Bruce Spence
as Lance Hackett
Wandjuk Marika
as Miliritbi
Roy Marika
as Dayipu
Ray Barrett
as Cole
Norman Kaye
as Baldwin Ferguson
Ray Marshall
as Solicitor General Coulthard
Robert Brissenden
as Prof. Stanner
Basil Clarke
as Judge Blackburn
Susan Greaves
as Secretary
Tim Cartwright
as RAAF Pilot
Tony Llewellyn-Jones
as Fitzsimmons
Trevor Orford
as Worker
Paul Cox
as Mining Photographer
Christopher Cain
Bob Ellis
as Supermarket manager
Hugh Keays-Byrne
as Mining executive
Anastasios Chatzidimpas
as Cook
James Ricketson
as Philip Adams, the Mining Leader
Andrew Mack
as Protocol Officer
Maria Chatzidimpas
as Mongoloid Girl
Maria Stratford
as Peevish Woman
Marraru Wunungmurra
as Daisy Barunga
Max Fairchild
as Police Officer
Michael Edols
as Young attorney
Nicolas Lathouris
as Arnold
Noel Lyon
as Bailiff
Paul Donazzan
as RAAF Pilot
Phillip Radke
as Chauffeur
Ralph Cotterill
as Fletcher


Werner Herzog
Lucki Stipetic
Werner Herzog
Bob Ellis
Dialogue Writer
Bob Ellis
Jörg Schmidt-Reitwein
Klaus-Jochen Wiese
Composer (Music Score)
Wandjuk Marika
Composer (Music Score)
Ernst Bloch
Composer (Music Score)
Beate Mainka-Jellinghaus
Ulrich Bergfelder
Art Director
Ulrich Bergfelder
Set Designer
Frances D. Hogan
Costume Designer
Brian Pearce
Special Effects
Tony Llewellyn-Jones