Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Without Limits Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

One of two filmed biographies of late track star Steve Prefontaine to be produced in the late '90s, Without Limits comes from director [[Performer~P286255~Robert Towne~roberttowne]], who previously took a stab at the track-star drama with his directorial debut, 1982's [[Feature~V37787~Personal Best~personalbest]]. [[Performer~P223041~Billy Crudup~billycrudup]] stars as the ill-fated athlete who overcame physical obstacles to win an NCAA championship and compete in the 1972 Munich Olympics. The film follows Prefontaine from his youth in Oregon where, despite one leg being longer than the other, he shows himself to be a talented runner. Later, while attending the University of Oregon, Prefontaine meets and forms a strong bond with his coach, Bill Bowerman ([[Performer~P69192~Donald Sutherland~donaldsutherland]]), the man who would later go on to found the Nike shoe corporation. College is also where Prefontaine falls for classmate Mary Marckx ([[Performer~P226316~Monica Potter~monicapotter]]), beginning a romance that lasts until his untimely death in a 1974 automobile accident. The other film about Steve Prefontaine was 1997's [[Feature~V154548~Prefontaine~prefontaine]] which starred [[Performer~P200349~Jared Leto~jaredleto]] in the titular role. ~ Matthew Tobey, Rovi

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
National Society of Film Critics Donald Sutherland Best Supporting Actor (Runner-up) 1998 Winner

Cast

Billy Crudup
as Steve Prefontaine
Donald Sutherland
as Bill Bowerman
Monica Potter
as Mary Marckx
Jeremy Sisto
as Frank Shorter
Matthew Lillard
as Roscoe Devine
Billy Burke
as Kenny Moore
Dean Norris
as Bill Dellinger
Gabriel Olds
as Don Kardong
Judith Ivey
as Barbara Bowerman
William Mapother
as Bob Peters
Amy Jo Johnson

Crew

Robert Towne
Director
Paula Wagner
Producer
Tom Cruise
Producer
Robert Towne
Screenwriter
Kenny Moore
Screenwriter
Conrad L. Hall
Cinematographer
Danny Bramson
Musical Direction/Supervision
Robert Lambert
Editor
Claire Simpson
Editor
Kenny Moore
Executive Producer
Jonathan Sanger
Executive Producer
Grania Preston
Costume Designer
Bruce Bisenz
Sound/Sound Designer
Benjamin Rosenberg
First Assistant Director
Rick Pagano
Casting
Conrad W. Hall
Second Unit Director Of Photography
Jonathan Sanger
Second Unit Director
Patrice Donnelly
Technical Advisor
Advertisement