Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Winning Details


Successful racecar driver Capua (Paul Newman) falls in love with Elora (Joanne Woodward). The two marry and settle down with Elora's 13-year-old son Charley (Richard Thomas). The honeymoon is short-lived as Capua must spend his time away from home on the racing circuit. Soon the racer's luck begins to change as his main rival Luther Erding (Robert Wagner) begins to best him at every race. Capua has a one-track mind and realizes too late that his wife is being lapped by the rival racer not only on the track but in the bedroom as well. He comes home to find his wife in bed with Luther, and he promptly leaves. Young Charley hitchhikes across country in an attempt to bring the couple towards a reconciliation. Richard Thomas, who would later star in the television series "The Waltons," makes his film debut. Spectacular footage from Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin and Indianapolis is used, including a 17-car pile-up. Cameo appearances are made by racers Bobby Unsur and Tony Human. After doing all his own driving during filming, Paul Newman would develop a lifelong passion for auto racing beginning with this film. ~ Dan Pavlides, Rovi

  • Release date:October 22, 1969


Paul Newman
as Capua
Joanne Woodward
as Elora
Robert Wagner
as Erding
Richard Thomas
as Charley
David Sheiner
as Crawford
Clu Gulager
as Larry
Toni Clayton
as The Girl
Maxine Stuart
as Miss Redburne's Mother
Robert Quarry
as Jagin
Paulene Myers
as Cleaning Woman
Ray Ballard
as Trombone Player
Charles Seel
as Eshovo
Alma Platt
as Mrs. Eshovo
Harry Basch
as The Stranger
Allen Emerson
as Desk Clerk
Marianna Case
as Motorcycle Girl
Carolyn McNichol
as Party Girl
George Mason
as Indianapolis Policeman
Mimi Littlejohn
as Indianapolis Queen
Pat Vidan
as Starter
Bruce Walkup
as Driver No. 1
Timothy Galbraith
as Drivers
Jay Reynolds
as Indianapolis Interviewer
Eileen Wesson
as Miss Redbum 200
Karen Arthur
as Miss Dairy Queen
Tony Hulman
as Himself
Karen Arthur
as Miss Dairy Queen
Eileen Wesson
as Miss Redbum 200


James Goldstone
John C. Foreman
Dave Grusin
Composer (Music Score)
Joe Alves
Art Director
Alexander Golitzen
Art Director
George Milo
Set Designer
John McCarthy
Set Designer
Edith Head
Costume Designer
Frank Brendel
Special Effects
Bud Westmore