Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Windtalkers Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Loosely based on a real-life operation during World War II, this action-adventure from director [[Performer~P117248~John Woo~johnwoo]] stars [[Performer~P10155~Nicolas Cage~nicolascage]] as Joe Enders, a Marine traumatized by the loss of his entire platoon in the Solomon Islands during an ambush he believes was deadlier than necessary due to his indecision. Suffering from eardrum damage in Hawaii, Joe manages to be declared fit for duty once again thanks to a sympathetic nurse ([[Performer~P228585~Frances O'Connor~francesoconnor]]), but his new assignment isn't what he expects. Joe is ordered to safeguard a Navajo soldier named Ben Yahzee ([[Performer~P4720~Adam Beach~adambeach]]) because the military has developed a new secret code based on the near-dead Navajo language that is proving unbreakable to the Japanese. Any soldier that speaks Navajo is an immediate asset, including Ben and his pal, Charlie Whitehorse ([[Performer~P322759~Roger Willie~rogerwillie]]). Joe's orders are to "baby sit" Ben during the invasion of Saipan, protecting him if possible, but -- if the code-talker's capture becomes imminent -- to kill him before he falls into enemy hands. Meanwhile, Charlie is to be guarded by affable harmonica player Ox Henderson ([[Performer~P66187~Christian Slater~christianslater]]). Joe reluctantly accepts this new duty as a way to get back into the war, and in the ensuing carnage, his nearly suicidal acts of bravery make him a hero while Ben becomes paralyzed by fear. Determined to live up to Joe's example, Ben musters up his courage, even in the face of racism from a fellow soldier ([[Performer~P199976~Noah Emmerich~noahemmerich]]), and ends up rescuing his own protector behind enemy lines by briefly posing as a Japanese soldier. Despite their growing mutual respect, Joe is eventually forced to take an action that threatens to shatter his bond with Ben, as the war's tragic losses strike closer to home for both men. Windtalkers co-stars [[Performer~P68555~Peter Stormare~peterstormare]], [[Performer~P34601~Jason Isaacs~jasonisaacs]], and [[Performer~P197651~Mark Ruffalo~markruffalo]]. ~ Karl Williams, Rovi

  • Release date:June 14, 2002

Cast

Nicolas Cage
as Joe Enders
Adam Beach
as Ben Yahzee
Peter Stormare
as Hjelmstad
Noah Emmerich
as Chick
Mark Ruffalo
as Pappas
Brian Van Holt
as Harrington
Martin Henderson
as Nellie
Frances O'Connor
as Rita
Roger Willie
as Charlie Whitehorse
Christian Slater
as Ox Henderson
Jason Isaacs
as Major Mellitz
Emily Mortimer

Crew

John Woo
Director
John Woo
Producer
Alison Rosenzweig
Producer
Terence Chang
Producer
Tracie Graham-Rice
Producer
John Rice
Screenwriter
Joe Batteer
Screenwriter
Jeffrey Kimball
Cinematographer
James Horner
Composer (Music Score)
Tom Rolf
Editor
Steven Kemper
Editor
Jeff Gullo
Editor
Holger Gross
Production Designer
Kevin Ishioka
Art Director
Caroline Macaulay
Co-producer
Steve Traxler
Associate Producer
C.O. Erickson
Executive Producer
Nick Scarano
Costume Designer
Bryan Bowen
Sound/Sound Designer
Bruce Tanis
Sound/Sound Designer
Richard Bryce Goodman
Sound/Sound Designer
Mindy Marin
Casting
Brian Smrz
Stunts Coordinator
Brian Smrz
Additional Cinematography
Kevin Yagher
Makeup Special Effects
Mark Stoeckinger
Supervising Sound Editor
Richard Stenta
Line Producer
Advertisement