Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Wicker Man Details


A righteous police officer investigating the disappearance of a young girl comes into conflict with the unusual residents of a secluded Scottish isle in this unsettling, intelligent chiller. Brought to the island of Summerisle by an anonymous letter, Edward Woodward's constable is surprised to discover that the island's population suspiciously denies the missing girl's very existence. Even more shocking, at least to the traditionally pious law office, the island is ruled by a libertarian society organized around pagan rituals. Repelled by the open acceptance of sexuality, nature worship, and even witchcraft, the officer takes an antagonistic attitude towards the people and their leader, an eccentric but charming English lord (Christopher Lee). The officer's unease intensifies as he continues his investigation, slowly coming to fear that the girl's disappearance may be linked in a particularly horrifying manner to an upcoming public festival. Anthony Shaffer's meticulously crafted screenplay creates a thoroughly convincing alternative society, building tension through slow discovery and indirect suggestion and making the terrifying climax all the more effective. Performances are also perfectly tuned, with Woodward suitably priggish as the investigator and horror icon Lee delivering one of his most accomplished performances as Lord Summerisle. Little noticed during its original theatrical run due to studio edits and a limited release, the film's intelligence and uncanny tone has since attracted a devoted cult following. ~ Judd Blaise, Rovi

  • Release date:May 5, 1974


Edward Woodward
as Sergeant Howie
Britt Ekland
as Willow
Diane Cilento
as Miss Rose
Ingrid Pitt
as Librarian
Christopher Lee
as Lord Summerisle
Roy Boyd
as Broome
Aubrey Morris
as Old Gardener
Aubrey Morris
as Gravedigger
Lorraine Peters
as Girl on grave
Richard Wren
as Ash Buchanan
Elizabeth Sinclair
as Villager on Summerisle
John Sharp
as Doctor Ewan
Russell Waters
as Harbour Master
John Young
as Fishmonger
Ross Campbell
as Communicant
Juliet Cadzow
as Villager on Summerisle
Peter Brewis
as Musician
Charles Kearney
as Butcher
Lindsay Kemp
as Alder MacGregor
Geraldine Cowper
as Rowan Morrison
John Hallam
as Police Constable McTaggart
Donald Eccles
as T.H. Lennox


Robin Hardy
Anthony Shaffer
Harry Waxman
Paul Giovanni
Composer (Music Score)
Eric Boyd-Perkins
Seamus Flannery
Art Director
Sue Yelland
Costume Designer
Jake Wright
First Assistant Director
James Devis
Camera Operator
Ted Morley
Production Manager