Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

White Noise Details


Divorced architect Jonathan Rivers (Michael Keaton) seems to lead a pretty good life with partial custody of his young son and a happy second marriage to Anna (Chandra West), a best-selling author. Things take an ugly turn when Anna disappears during a thunderstorm, apparently the victim of a freak accident. Eventually, her body is found, and Jonathan sinks into despair. Then he meets Raymond (Ian McNeice), who claims that Anna has contacted him through EVP, or electronic voice phenomena. Raymond explains that the dead can communicate from beyond via static on common electronic equipment like radios and televisions. Jonathan is skeptical until he starts getting phone calls from Anna's inactive cell phone. He visits Raymond, whose home is filled with audio and video monitors and high-tech recording equipment. There he meets Sarah (Deborah Kara Unger), who has recently received a farewell message from her late fiancé. Jonathan eventually receives what appears to be a communication from Anna, but soon afterward, Raymond turns up dead. Obsessed with maintaining contact with his late wife, Jonathan visits a psychic (Connor Tracy) who warns him that he's going down a dangerous path, "meddling" in the affairs of the dead. Undaunted, Jonathan continues to study EVP and eventually finds that he's getting messages from people who haven't died...yet. White Noise was directed by Geoffrey Sax from an original script by Niall Johnson. ~ Josh Ralske, Rovi

  • Release date:January 7, 2005


Michael Keaton
as Jonathan Rivers
Chandra West
as Anna Rivers
Deborah Kara Unger
as Sarah Tate
Ian McNeice
as Raymond Price
Sarah Strange
as Jane
Nicholas Elia
as Mike Rivers
Mike Dopud
as Detective Smits
Marsha Regis
as Police Woman
Brad Sihvon
as Minister
Michale Ascher
as Woman
Chuck Walkinshaw
as Presence #2
Suzanne Ristic
as Mary Freeman
April Telek
as John's Secretary
Mitchell Kosterman
as Work Man
Micki Maunsell
as Edith Tomlinson
Anastasia Corbett
as Young Girl
Peter Bryant
as Man
Aaron Douglas
as Young Father
Colin Chapin
as Presence #3
Bill Tarling
as Presence #1
Bruce Dawson
as Mark
Amber Rothwell
as Susie Tomlinson
Miranda Frigon
as Car Crash Woman
Benita Ha
as TV Reporter
Anthony Harrison
as Doctor


Geoffrey Sax
Shawn Williamson
Paul Brooks
Niall Johnson
Chris Seager
Claude Foisy
Composer (Music Score)
Nick Arthurs
Michael S. Bolton
Production Designer
Greg Venturi
Art Director
Jonathan Shore
Associate Producer
Scott Niemeyer
Executive Producer
Stephen Hegyes
Executive Producer
Norm Waitt
Executive Producer
Simon Brooks
Executive Producer
Karen Matthews
Costume Designer
Penny A. Chalmers
Set Decorator
Richard Coleman
First Assistant Director
Maureen Webb