Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

White Men Can't Jump Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P111129~Ron Shelton~ronshelton]] ([[Feature~V7502~Bull Durham~bulldurham]]) wrote and directed the basketball-oriented seriocomedy White Men Can't Jump. [[Performer~P30548~Woody Harrelson~woodyharrelson]] plays Billy Hoyle, a white con artist who hustles basketball games with black players, lulling his victims into the misguided notion that white men can't match up with black hoopsters. One of his victims, African-American Sidney Deane ([[Performer~P66675~Wesley Snipes~wesleysnipes]]), becomes Hoyle's "agent," arranging his various inner city scams. Deane doesn't feel as though he's selling out his own people; he goes along with Hoyle to provide a better life for his wife, Rhonda ([[Performer~P22791~Tyra Ferrell~tyraferrell]]), and son. The film breezes through several zany sequences, including one liberal-baiting satirical moment set at a black/white "solidarity" basketball game arranged by an ambitious politician. Crooked gamblers intrude upon the last scenes of the film, but Hoyle is rescued by his girlfriend, Gloria ([[Performer~P106101~Rosie Perez~rosieperez]]), a Jeopardy freak who realizes a lifelong dream by winning big on the [[Performer~P71683~Alex Trebek~alextrebek]]-hosted game show. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:March 27, 1992

Cast

Woody Harrelson
as Billy Hoyle
Wesley Snipes
as Sidney Deane
Rosie Perez
as Gloria Clemente
Tyra Ferrell
as Rhonda Deane
Cylk Cozart
as Robert
Kadeem Hardison
as Junior
Ernest Harden Jr.
as George
John Marshall Jones
as Walter
Marques Johnson
as Raymond
Kevin Benton
as Zeke
Lanei Chapman
as Lanei
Leroy Michaux
as Ballplayer
Lester Hawkins
as Ballplayer
Lisa McDowell
as Alisa
Mahcoe Moore
as Ballplayer
Irene Nettles
as Real Estate Agent
Jeanette Srubar
as Little Guy's Girlfriend
Jeanne McCarthy
as Dressing Room Staffer
Joe Metcalf
as Ballplayer
Pete Duffy
as Ballplayer
Reggie Leon
as Reggie
Reynaldo Rey
as Tad
Ronald Beals
as Ballplayer
Sarah Stavrou
as Etiwanda
Sonny Craver
as Venice Beach Boys Member
Stu Lantz
as NBA Announcer
Torri Whitehead
as Tanya
Victoria Thomas
Bill Caplan
as Tournament Announcer
Zandra Hill
as Sponsor
Alex Trebek
as Himself
Donald Fullilove
as Jake
John Gilbert
as "Jeopardy!" Announcer
Jake "The Snake" Roberts
as Ballplayer
Jon Hendricks
as Venice Beach Boys Member
Chalmer Maddox
as Ballplayer
Chick Hearn
as NBA Announcer
Daniel Porto
as Ballplayer
Duane Martin
as Willie Lewis
Eloy Casados
as Tony Stucci
Eric Kizziee
as Ballplayer
Allan Malamud
as Rocket Scientist
Freeman Williams
as Duck Johnson
Gary Lazar
as Oki-Dog Businessman
Gary Moeller
as Ballplayer
John Jones
Bill Henderson
as Venice Beach Boys Member

Crew

Ron Shelton
Director
David Lester
Producer
Don Miller
Producer
Michelle Rappaport
Producer
Ron Shelton
Screenwriter
Russell Boyd
Cinematographer
Bennie Wallace
Composer (Music Score)
Kimberly Ray
Editor
Paul Seydor
Editor
Dennis Washington
Production Designer
Roger Fortune
Art Director
Michelle Rappaport
Executive Producer
Robert R. Benton
Set Designer
Francine Jamison-Tanchuck
Costume Designer
Julius Le Flore
Stunts
Mike Johnson
Stunts
Victoria Thomas
Casting
Advertisement