Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

What's Cooking? Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Kenyan-born, London-educated Indian filmmaker [[Performer~P166460~Gurinder Chadha~gurinderchadha]] follows up on her debut hit [[Feature~V131146~Bhaji on the Beach~bhajionthebeach]] (1994) with this gentle look at multiculturalism in Los Angeles. The film details the lives of four ethnically diverse families -- black, Latino, Jewish, and Asian -- during one frantic Thanksgiving. The film opens with Ronald ([[Performer~P31307~Dennis Haysbert~dennishaysbert]]), an African-American who works as a spin doctor for the Republican politico; he and his wife Audrey ([[Performer~P77363~Alfre Woodard~alfrewoodard]]) are in the midst of preparing for their white dinner guests. Meanwhile, at the Latino household, young Anthony Avila ([[Performer~P223613~Douglas Spain~douglasspain]]) invites his womanizing father for Thanksgiving dinner, unbeknownst to his schoolteacher mother Elisabeth ([[Performer~P62063~Mercedes Ruehl~mercedesruehl]]). At the same time, the Seeling family is confronted with their daughter Rachel's (Kyra Sedwick) lesbianism, when she brings home her lover Carla ([[Performer~P45427~Julianna Margulies~juliannamargulies]]). Finally, Vietnamese immigrant Trinh Nguyen ([[Performer~P12632~Joan Chen~joanchen]]) struggles to understand her Americanized children after she discovers condoms in her eldest daughter's jacket and a gun in her son's room. ~ Jonathan Crow, Rovi

  • Release date:January 20, 2000

Cast

Alfre Woodard
as Audrey Williams
Dennis Haysbert
as Ronald Williams
Ann Weldon
as Grace Williams
Mercedes Ruehl
as Elizabeth Avila
Victor Rivers
as Javier Avila
Douglas Spain
as Anthony Avila
A. Martinez
as Daniel
Lainie Kazan
as Ruth Seeling
Maury Chaykin
as Herb Seeling
Kyra Sedgwick
as Rachel Seeling
Julianna Margulies
as Carla
Estelle Harris
as Aunt Bea
Joan Chen
as Trinh Nguyen
Kristy Wu
as Jenny Nguyen
Will Yun Lee
as Jimmy Nguyen

Crew

Gurinder Chadha
Director
Jeffrey Taylor
Producer
Gurinder Chadha
Screenwriter
Jong Lin
Cinematographer
Janice Hampton
Editor
Stuart Blatt
Production Designer
Beau Rogers
Executive Producer
David Forrest
Executive Producer
Ethan Hurt
Executive Producer
Steven D. Kravitz
Executive Producer
Eduardo Castro
Costume Designer
Advertisement