Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

What a Girl Wants Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Loosely based on the 1958 comedy [[Feature~V40887~The Reluctant Debutante~thereluctantdebutante]] starring [[Performer~P18244~Sandra Dee~sandradee]], the family-friendly comedy What a Girl Wants features popular Nickelodeon teen star [[Performer~P303423~Amanda Bynes~amandabynes]] in her first feature-starring performance after her debut in [[Feature~V259372~Big Fat Liar~bigfatliar]]. She plays teenager Daphne Reynolds, who lives in New York City with her musician mother, Libby ([[Performer~P57732~Kelly Preston~kellypreston]]). After she turns 17, Daphne is undecided about her future, so she takes off by herself to London in search of her father. She immediately meets cute musician Ian ([[Performer~P359979~Oliver James~oliverjames]]) before sneaking in to her father's estate to surprise him. He turns out to be Lord Henry Dashwood ([[Performer~P23590~Colin Firth~colinfirth]]), a fabulously wealthy aristocrat who doesn't even know that she exists. He had met her mother in Morocco and the two were married in a tribal ceremony. Upon their return to England, she left him and went back to the U.S. without ever revealing that she was pregnant. The uptight Henry is already flustered by his campaign for election, advised by doting aide Alistair Payne ([[Performer~P57980~Jonathan Pryce~jonathanpryce]]). His no-nonsense fiancée, Glynnis ([[Performer~P195452~Anna Chancellor~annachancellor]]), and her bratty daughter, Clarissa ([[Performer~P359980~Christina Cole~christinacole]]), are threatened by Daphne's presence, thinking that she will hurt Henry's political aspirations by causing a scandal. However, the family matriarch ([[Performer~P2699~Eileen Atkins~eileenatkins]]) takes a liking to her and she soon finds herself trying to liven things up at several stuffy aristocratic parties. Meanwhile, the evil Glynnis and Clarissa conspire against her by trying to sabotage her appearance, leading up to the conclusion at Daphne's very own coming-out party. ~ Andrea LeVasseur, Rovi

  • Release date:April 4, 2003

Cast

Amanda Bynes
as Daphne
Colin Firth
as Lord Henry Dashwood
Kelly Preston
as Libby Reynolds
Eileen Atkins
as Jocelyn Dashwood
Jonathan Pryce
as Alistair Payne
Anna Chancellor
as Glynnis
Oliver James
as Ian Wallace
Christina Cole
as Clarissa Payne
Sylvia Syms
as Princess Charlotte
Ben Scholfield
as Armistead Stuart
June Walker
as Dancer
Cassie Powney
as Peach Orwood
Pieter Vodden
as Sven
Basil Patton
as Dancer
Stanley Townsend
as Bride's Father
Erik Von Detten
Judy Collins
as Dancer
David Gyasi
as Ian's Band Member
Chris Mulkey
Stephen W. Anderson
as Television Reporter
Victoria Wicks
as Henry's Secretary
Flaminia Cinque
as Caterer
Tara Summers
as Noelle
James Greene
as Percy
Roger Ashton-Griffiths
as Lord Orwood
Matt Acheson
as Country Club Wedding Singer
Raffaello Dagruttola
as Groom
Malcolm Davey
as Dancer
David Temple
as Ian's Band Member
Louis Saint-Juste
as Dancer
Layla Ellison
as Dancer
Mike Toller
as Libby's Band Member
Connie Powney
as Pear Orwood
Natalie Bromley
as Jane
Jane Victory
as Dancer
Bharti Patel
as Dancer
Newton Boothe
as Taxi Driver
Barrington Shaw
as Dancer
Daniel Tuite
as Newspaper Reporter #1
Charlie Beall
as Rufus
Tony Kemp
as Dancer
Tom Harper
Jafri Jobaid
as Dancer
Ethel Crichlow
as Dancer
Elizabeth Richard
as Queen
Nita Mistry
as Girl in Hostel
Luke Fredericks
as Ian's Band Member
Tom Penn
as Libby's Band Member
Peter Hugo
as Prince Charles
Vernon Preston
as Duke of Edinburgh
Ash Croney
as Dancer
Soleil McGhee
as Young Daphne
Stephanie Lane
as Fiona
Thomas Michael Voss
as Dancer
Tim Fornara
as Ian's Band Member
Bruno Tonioli
as Fashion Emcee
James Linton
as Political Advisor Two
Steven Osborne
as Staff Member
Matthew Turpin
as Prince William
Jonah Russell
as Policeman
Neville Phillips
as Butler
Maureen Waters
as Dancer
Antony Carrick
as Prince Michael
Peter Jessup
as Dancer
Allan Laza
as Dancer
Tom Goodfellow
as Libby's Band Member
David Whitmey
as Ian's Band Member
Sian Todd
as Dancer

Crew

Dennie Gordon
Director
Denise Di Novi
Producer
Bill Gerber
Producer
Hunt Lowry
Producer
Elizabeth Chandler
Screenwriter
Jenny Bicks
Screenwriter
Andrew Dunn
Cinematographer
Rupert Gregson-Williams
Composer (Music Score)
Debra Baum
Musical Direction/Supervision
Chuck McClelland
Editor
Michael Carlin
Production Designer
Karen Wakefield
Art Director
Steve Harding
Co-producer
Casey La Scala
Executive Producer
Alison Greenspan
Executive Producer
E.K. Gaylord II
Executive Producer
Rebecca Alleway
Set Designer
Shay Cunliffe
Costume Designer
Colin Charles
Sound/Sound Designer
Brian Simmons
Sound/Sound Designer
Michael Murray
First Assistant Director
Suzanne Crowley
Casting
Gilly Poole
Casting
Matt Grime
Supervising Sound Editor
Advertisement