Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Wes Craven's New Nightmare Details


Veteran horror director Wes Craven was responsible for the hit 1984 film Wes Craven, which introduced the character of Freddy Krueger. After Craven sold the rights to his character, Krueger became filmdom's top grossing monster, with five sequels by 1991. In this post-modernist horror film, Craven plays himself, a filmmaker working on a script for a movie that seems to be spinning out of control. Also playing himself, as well as playing his customary character Krueger, is Robert Englund. The original teenage hero of the first Nightmare film, Heather Langenkamp, also plays herself. She is still haunted by Freddy dreams, but Craven convinces her to make another Krueger film to exorcise her demons. Unfortunately, her son Dylan (Miko Hughes) is being taken over by Freddy himself, who materializes and kills Dylan's beloved nanny, Julie (Tracy Middendorf). Dylan, possessed by the evil spirit, escapes from the hospital and tries to cross a freeway with his mother in pursuit. Craven finds that his character has literally become a creation out of his control. ~ Michael Betzold, Rovi

  • Release date:September 9, 1994


Awarded by
Independent Spirit Awards Marianne Maddalena Best Picture 1994 Nominee


Robert Englund
as Freddy Krueger
Robert Englund
as Robert Englund
Heather Langenkamp
as Herself
Miko Hughes
as Dylan
Tracy Middendorf
as Julie
John Saxon
as Himself
Fran Bennett
as Dr. Heffner
Wes Craven
as Himself
Robert Shaye
as Himself
Sara Risher
as Herself
Marianne Maddalena
as Herself
Tuesday Knight
as Herself
Nick Corri
as Himself
Ray Glanzmann
as Highway Patrolman
Lin Shaye
as Nurse with Pills
Gretchen Oehler
as Script Supervisor
Jessica Craven
as Junior Nurse with Needle
Beans Morocco
as Graveyard Worker
Cully Fredricksen
as Limo Driver
Rob La Belle
as Terry
Bodhi Elfman
as TV Studio P.A
W. Earl Brown
as Morgue Attendant
Tamara Mark
as Patrice Englund


Wes Craven
Sara Risher
Marianne Maddalena
Wes Craven
Mark Irwin
Patrick Lussier
Cynthia Kay Charette
Production Designer
Troy Sizemore
Art Director
Jay Roewe
Robert Shaye
Executive Producer
Wes Craven
Executive Producer
Stephen Alesch
Set Designer
Mary Jane Fort
Costume Designer
Jim Steube
Sound/Sound Designer
Nick Mastandrea
First Assistant Director
Gary Zuckerbrod
Jim Behnke
Second Unit Director