Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

We Were Soldiers Details


Screenwriter Randall Wallace, a specialist in sweeping historical epics, steps behind the camera for this fact-based Vietnam War drama that reunites him with his Braveheart (1995) star Mel Gibson. Gibson is Lt. Col. Hal Moore, commander of the First Battalion, Seventh Cavalry, the same regiment fatefully led by George Armstrong Custer. As part of the Pleiku Campaign of late 1965, Moore is assigned to an action at Landing Zone X-Ray in the Drang Valley, an area that would come to be known as the "The Valley of Death." Moore soon finds himself and his men contained to an area about the size of a football field, surrounded by more than 2,000 enemy troops and engaged in the first major battle of the war. Heroism becomes the order of the day as men like Moore, chopper pilot Bruce Crandall (Greg Kinnear), and Lt. Henry Herrick (Marc Blucas) refuse to yield, in spite of heavy losses of life. The film co-stars Madeleine Stowe, Chris Klein, Keri Russell, and Sam Elliott. We Were Soldiers is based on the book We Were Soldiers Once...and Young by Lt. Gen. Harold G. Moore (retired) and UPI reporter Joe Galloway (played in the film by Barry Pepper). ~ Karl Williams, Rovi

  • Release date:March 1, 2002


Mel Gibson
as Lt. Col. Harold G. Moore
Madeleine Stowe
as Julie Moore
Greg Kinnear
as Major Bruce Crandall
Sam Elliott
as SGM Basil Plumley
Chris Klein
as Lt. John L. Geoghegan
Keri Russell
as Barbara Geoghegan
Erik MacArthur
as Spec. 4 Russell Adams
Dylan Walsh
Blake Heron
as Spec. 4 Galen Bungum
Jsu Garcia
as Capt. Tony Nadal
Jon Hamm
Josh Daugherty
as Spec. 4 Bob Ouellette
Don Duong
as Lt. Col. Nguyen Huu An
Barry Pepper
as Joseph L. Galloway
Clark Gregg
Desmond Harrington
Taylor Momsen
Ryan Hurst
Marc Blucas
Denis Leary
Robert Bagnell
as 1st Lt. Charlie Hastings


Randall Wallace
Randall Wallace
Bruce Davey
Stephen McEveety
Randall Wallace
Dean Semler
Nick Glennie-Smith
Composer (Music Score)
William Hoy
Tom Sanders
Production Designer
Nilo Otero
Art Director
Kevin Kavanaugh
Art Director
Daniel Dorrance
Supervising Art Director
Kim Winther
Art Director
James F. Truesdale
Art Director
Danielle Lemmon
Stephen Zapotoczny
William Hoy
Associate Producer
Jim Lemley
Executive Producer
Arne Schmidt
Executive Producer
Naaman Marshall
Set Designer
Richard Romig
Set Designer
Gary Fettis
Set Decorator
Michael T. Boyd
Costume Designer
Lon Bender
Sound/Sound Designer
Mark Stoeckinger
Sound/Sound Designer
Tim Cooney
Sound/Sound Designer
Cliff Fleming
Mario Roberts
Amanda Mackey-Johnson
Cathy Sandrich Gelfond
Lloyd Ahern, Jr.
Second Unit Director Of Photography
Allan Graf
Stunts Coordinator
Allan Graf
Second Unit Director
Richard Merryman
Second Unit Director Of Photography
David Nowell
Aerial Photography
Michael Gershman
Second Unit Director Of Photography