Share

Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Wayne's World Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Based on the [[Feature~V108912~Saturday Night Live~saturdaynight]] sketch of the same name, Wayne's World is a wacky, irreverent pop-culture comedy about the adventures of two amiably aimless metal-head friends, Wayne ([[Performer~P270473~Mike Myers~mikemyers]]) and Garth ([[Performer~P11499~Dana Carvey~danacarvey]]). From Wayne's basement, the pair broadcast a talk-show called "Wayne's World" on local public access television. The show comes to the attention of a sleazy network executive ([[Performer~P43513~Rob Lowe~roblowe]]) who wants to produce a big-budget version of "Wayne's World"--and he also wants Wayne's girlfriend, a rock singer named Cassandra ([[Performer~P11254~Tia Carrere~tiacarrere]]). Wayne and Garth have to battle the executive not only to save their show, but also Cassandra. Director [[Performer~P112314~Penelope Spheeris~penelopespheeris]], Myers and Carvey hang a lot of silly, but funny, jokes on this thin plot, and the energy of the cast--as well as the wild pop-culture references--make Wayne's World a cut above the average [[Feature~V108912~Saturday Night Live~saturdaynight]] spin-off movie. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

  • Release date:May 22, 1992

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
MTV Movie Awards Mike Myers Best On-Screen Duo 1991 Winner
MTV Movie Awards Dana Carvey Best On-Screen Duo 1991 Winner

Cast

Mike Myers
as Wayne Campbell
Dana Carvey
as Garth Algar
Rob Lowe
as Benjamin Oliver
Tia Carrere
as Cassandra
Lara Flynn Boyle
as Stacy
Brian Doyle-Murray
as Noah Vanderhoff
Colleen Camp
as Mrs. Vanderhoff
Kurt Fuller
as Russell
Alice Cooper
as Himself
Donna Dixon
as Dreamwoman
Michael DeLuise
as Alan
Dan Bell
as Neil
Lee Tergesen
as Terry
Sean Gregory Sullivan
as Phil
Frederick Coffin
as Officer Koharski
Chris Farley
as Security Guard
Ed O'Neill
as Mikita's Manager, Glen
Ione Skye
as Elyse
Robert Patrick
as Police Officer (uncredited)
Frank di Leo
as Frankie Sharp - Mr. Big
Stan Mikita
as Himself
Greg Smith
as Bassist - Alice Cooper's Band Member
Michael Patrick Carter
Stef Burns
as Guitarist - Alice Cooper's Band Member
Robin Ruzan
as Waitress
Glenn Daniels
Eric Crabb
as Guitar Store Clerk
Peder Melhuse
as Detective
Charles Noland
as Ron Paxton
Carmen Filpi
as Old Man Withers
Harris Shore
as Detective
Don Amendolia
as Announcer
Anthony Focx
as Drummer - Crucial Taunt Band Member
Meat Loaf
as Tiny
Michael Hagerty
as Davy
Derek Sherinian
as Keyboards - Alice Cooper's Band Member
Marco Ferrari
as Guitarist - Crucial Taunt Band Member

Crew

Penelope Spheeris
Director
Lorne Michaels
Producer
Leonard Michaels
Producer
Terry Turner
Screenwriter
Mike Myers
Screenwriter
Bonnie Turner
Screenwriter
Theo Van de Sande
Cinematographer
Thomas Nelson
Musical Direction/Supervision
Malcolm Campbell
Editor
Gregg Fonseca
Production Designer
Tony Brown
Production Designer
Dinah Minot
Associate Producer
Barnaby Thompson
Associate Producer
Howard W. Koch
Executive Producer
Lisette Thomas
Set Designer
Jay R. Hart
Set Designer
Gae S. Buckley
Set Designer
Pat Tonnema
Costume Designer
Glenn Daniels
Casting
Advertisement