Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Watchmen Details


's Zack Snyder brings Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons' critically acclaimed comic book Watchmen to the big screen, courtesy of DC Comics and Warner Bros. Pictures. Set in an alternate universe circa 1985, the film's world is a highly unstable one where a nuclear war is imminent between America and Russia. Superheroes have long been made to hang up their tights thanks to the government-sponsored Keene Act, but that all changes with the death of The Comedian (Jeffrey Dean Morgan), a robust ex-hero commando whose mysterious free fall out a window perks the interest of one of the country's last remaining vigilantes, Rorschach (Jackie Earle Haley). His investigation leads him to caution many of his other former costumed colleagues, including Dr. Manhattan, Night Owl (Patrick Wilson), Ozymandias (Matthew Goode), Sally Jupiter (Carla Gugino), and her daughter, The Silk Spectre (Malin Akerman). Heralded for bringing the world of superheroes into the literary world, Watchmen gave the super-powered mythos a real-life grounding that had been missing in mainstream comics to that point. The film adaptation had languished in one form of development hell or another for years after the book's release, with various directors on and off the project, including Terry Gilliam, David Hayter, and Darren Aronofsky, as well as Paul Greengrass, whose eventual dismissal stemmed from budget conflicts with the studio. ~ Jeremy Wheeler, Rovi

  • Release date:March 6, 2009


Malin Akerman
as Laurie Jupiter/Silk Spectre II
Billy Crudup
as Dr. Manhattan/Jon Osterman
Matthew Goode
as Adrian Veidt/Ozymandias
Carla Gugino
as Sally Jupiter/Silk Spectre
Jackie Earle Haley
as Rorschach/Walter Kovacs
Jeffrey Dean Morgan
as Edward Blake/Comedian
Patrick Wilson
as Dan Dreiberg/Nite Owl
Matt Frewer
as Moloch
Stephen McHattie
as Hollis Mason
Laura Mennell
as Janey Slater
Rob La Belle
as Wally Weaver
Robert Wisden
as Richard Nixon
Gary Houston
as John McLaughlin
James Michael Connor
as Pat Buchanan
John Shaw
as Doug Roth
Jerry Wasserman
as Detective Fine
Don Thompson
as Detective Gallagher
Frank Novak
as Henry Kissinger
Garry Chalk
as NORAD General
Ron Fassler
as Ted Koppel
Stephanie Belding
as Janet Black
Michael Kopsa
as Paul Klein
William Taylor
as Prison Psychiatrist
Chris Burns
as Dumb Thug
Malcolm Scott
as Fat Thug
Danny Wattley
as Huge
Nhi Do
as Vietnamese Girl
Walter Addison
as Lee Iacocca


Zack Snyder
Lloyd Levin
Lawrence Gordon
Deborah Snyder
David Hayter
Alex Tse
Larry Fong
Tyler Bates
Composer (Music Score)
William Hoy
Alex McDowell
Production Designer
François Audouy
Supervising Art Director
Wesley Coller
Herbert W. Gains
Executive Producer
Thomas Tull
Executive Producer
Michael Wilkinson
Costume Designer
Jeremy Peirson
Sound/Sound Designer
Martin Walters
First Assistant Director
Kristy Carlson
Michelle Allen
Joel Whist
Special Effects Coordinator
Greg Cannom
Makeup Special Effects
Kimi Webber
Script Supervisor
Tom C. Peitzman
Visual Effects Producer
Andrea Wertheim
Post Production Supervisor
Misha Bukowski
Second Assistant Director