Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Watching the Detectives Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A film freak has his life turned upside down when he starts dating a real-life femme fatale in this comedy. Neil ([[Performer~P271775~Cillian Murphy~cillianmurphy]]) is a dyed-in-the-wool movie fan who runs a video store, "Gumshoe Video," specializing in classic film noir and offbeat cult items. Neil spends nearly every evening on the couch, soaking up classic movies from the blue glow of his television; Neil's lack of a social life has not been good for his relationships with women, and his latest girlfriend walked out on him after he declared he wanted her to be more like [[Performer~P61632~Katharine Ross~katharineross]] in [[Feature~V7672~Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid~butchcassidyandthesundancekid]]. But then Neil meets Violet ([[Performer~P267831~Lucy Liu~lucyliu]]), a sexy and adventurous woman who is immediately taken with him. However, Neil soon decides Violet may be a bit too adventurous -- while he's content to get his excitement from watching movies, she would rather throw herself into thrilling situations rather than observe them from a distance, and her appetite for danger proves to be far more than he bargained for. Watching the Detectives was the first directorial effort from [[Performer~P214472~Paul Soter~paulsoter]], who as a member of the [[Performer~P392735~Broken Lizard~brokenlizard]] comedy troupe helped write the films [[Feature~V237161~Super Troopers~supertroopers]] and [[Feature~V344526~Beerfest~beerfest]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

Crew

Paul Soter
Director
Daniela Taplin-Lundberg
Producer
Celine Rattray
Producer
Galt Niederhoffer
Producer
Paul Soter
Screenwriter
Christophe Lanzenberg
Cinematographer
Nathan Barr
Composer (Music Score)
Jeff W. Canavan
Editor
John Nyomarkay
Production Designer
Carina Alves
Co-producer
Pamela Hirsch
Co-producer
Gary Howsam
Executive Producer
Irving Schwartz
Executive Producer
Bill Benenson
Executive Producer
John Flock
Executive Producer
Lewin Webb
Executive Producer
Randy Simon
Executive Producer
Reagan Silber
Executive Producer
Ken Ishii
Sound/Sound Designer
Mariela Comitini
First Assistant Director
Trip Brock
Sound Editor
Advertisement