Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

War of the Worlds Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

An ordinary man has to protect his children against alien invaders in this science fiction thriller, freely adapted from the classic story by [[Performer~P214753~H.G. Wells~hgwells]]. Ray Ferrier ([[Performer~P86295~Tom Cruise~tomcruise]]) is a dockworker living in New Jersey, divorced from his first wife Mary Ann ([[Performer~P54440~Miranda Otto~mirandaotto]]) and estranged from his two children Rachel and Robbie ([[Performer~P301579~Dakota Fanning~dakotafanning]] and Justin Chatwin), of whom he has custody on weekends. On one such visitation, looking after the kids becomes a little more difficult when, after a series of strange lighting storms hit his neighborhood, Ray discovers that a fleet of death-ray robotic spaceships have emerged nearby, part of the first wave of an all-out alien invasion of the Earth. Transporting his children from New York to Boston in an attempt to find safety at Mary Ann's parents' house, Ray must learn to become the protector and provider he never was in marriage. Also starring [[Performer~P108437~Tim Robbins~timrobbins]], War of the Worlds was directed by [[Performer~P112325~Steven Spielberg~stevenspielberg]], who had been planning the project for years, but set it aside until a wave of "alien invasion" films (led by [[Feature~V136197~Independence Day~independenceday]]) had run its course. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:June 29, 2005

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Anna Behlmer Best Sound Mixing 2005 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Pablo Helman Best Visual Effects 2005 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Randy Dutra Best Visual Effects 2005 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Ronald Judkins Best Sound Mixing 2005 Nominee
Broadcast Film Critics Association Dakota Fanning Best Young Actress 2005 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Andy Nelson Best Sound Mixing 2005 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Dennis Muren Best Visual Effects 2005 Nominee

Cast

Tom Cruise
as Ray Ferrier
Dakota Fanning
as Rachel Ferrier
Miranda Otto
as Mary Ann
Justin Chatwin
as Robbie Ferrier
Tim Robbins
as Ogilvy
Rick Gonzalez
as Vincent
Yul Vázquez
as Julio
Lenny Venito
as Manny the Mechanic
Lisa Ann Walter
as Bartender
Ann Robinson
as Grandmother
Gene Barry
as Grandfather
Morgan Freeman
as Narrator
David Alan Basche
David Harbour
as Dock Worker
James DuMont
Daniel Franzese

Crew

Steven Spielberg
Director
Kathleen Kennedy
Producer
David Koepp
Screenwriter
Josh Friedman
Screenwriter
Janusz Kaminski
Cinematographer
John Williams
Composer (Music Score)
Michael Kahn
Editor
Rick Carter
Production Designer
Scott Herbertson
Art Director
Aric Cheng
Art Director
Tony Fanning
Supervising Art Director
Doug Meerdink
Art Director
Andrew Menzies
Art Director
Norman Newberry
Art Director
Paula Wagner
Executive Producer
Kevin Cross
Set Designer
Billy Hunter
Set Designer
Roy Barnes
Set Designer
Joanna Johnston
Costume Designer
Anne Kuljian
Set Decorator
Ronald Judkins
Sound/Sound Designer
Randy Dutra
Special Effects
Adam Somner
First Assistant Director
Debra Zane
Casting
Terri Taylor
Casting
Andy Nelson
Re-Recording Mixer
Dennis Muren
Visual Effects Supervisor
Anna Behlmer
Re-Recording Mixer
Pablo Helman
Visual Effects Supervisor
Vic Armstrong
Stunts Coordinator
Vic Armstrong
Second Unit Director
Daniel Sudick
Visual Effects
Advertisement