Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Walking Tall Details


A man fights to bring decency and the rule of law back to his hometown in this action drama. Chris Vaughn ([[Performer~P292998~The Rock~therock]]) left his home in Washington State's timber country to join the Army, where he distinguished himself as a member of the Special Forces. When his hitch is over, Vaughn decides to return home to help run the family business, a sawmill, but he soon makes the unpleasant discovery that things aren't what they once were. Vaughn learns that the town's lumber industry has all but dried up, and an old high school buddy, Jay Hamilton ([[Performer~P47303~Neal McDonough~nealmcdonough]]), has turned the city into a den of vice, running a large gambling casino and strip club while selling drugs and women on the side. Angry at this turn of events, and frustrated by local law enforcement officials who are willing to ignore Hamilton's crimes in exchange for kickbacks, Vaughn decides to run for sheriff, and with the help of another old friend, Ray Templeton ([[Performer~P295763~Johnny Knoxville~johnnyknoxville]]), he wins the election. But Hamilton doesn't take kindly to Vaughn's attempts to clean up the town, and Vaughn discovers Hamilton's henchmen are willing to target his friends, his family, and the woman he loves ([[Performer~P291644~Ashley Scott~ashleyscott]]) in order to have their way. Walking Tall was based on [[Performer~P96784~Phil Karlson~philkarlson]]'s 1973 action hit of the same name, which was in turn inspired by the true story of Buford Pusser, who was sheriff of Tennessee's McNairy County between 1964 and 1970 and gained fame for his tough tactics against the local criminal element. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:April 2, 2004


The Rock
as Chris Vaughn, Jr
Johnny Knoxville
as Ray Templeton
Neal McDonough
as Jay Hamilton
Kristen Wilson
as Michelle Vaughn
Ashley Scott
as Deni
Khleo Thomas
as Pete Vaughn
John Beasley
as Chris Vaughn Sr.
Barbara Tarbuck
as Connie Vaughn
Michael Bowen
as Sheriff Stan Watkins
Kevin Durand
as Booth
Mark Houghton
as County Prosecutor
Aaron Douglas
as Casino Stickman
Ana Mirkovic
as Blackjack Dealer
James Ashcroft
as Bailiff
Andrew Tarbet
as Jimmy
Kaja Gjesdal
as Lap Dancer
Katina Robillard
as Dollar Bill Girl
Kett Turton
as Kenner
Sandra Higueras
as Casino Trashy Woman
Sandra Steier
as Addict Mother
Ben Cardinal
as Michelle's Partner
Terence Kelly
as Judge L. Powell
Tom Scholte
as Merle Crowe
Ty Olsson
as Deputy
Beverley Elliott
as Nurse
April Telek
as Casino Waitress
Michael Soltis
as Casino Maitenance Worker
Patrick Gallagher
as Keith
John Stewart
as Rusty
Michael D. Adamthwaite
as Burke
Ryan Robbins
as Travis
Jacqueline Stewart
as Girl on Platform
Ben Cotton
as Drug Dealer
Sarah Smith
as Wet T-Shirt Girl
Alana Drozduke
as Casino Trashy Woman
Cobie Smulders
as Exotic Beauty
Darcy Laurie
as Smitty
David Purvis
as Ray's AA Sponsor
Douglas Sheridan
as Boxman
Eric Breker
as Deputy Ralston
Eric Keenleyside
as Dan Stadler
Fred Keating
as Doctor


Kevin Bray
David Hoberman
Jim Burke
Lucas Foster
Ashok Amritraj
Paul Schiff
David Levien
David Klass
Brian Koppelman
Channing Gibson
Glen MacPherson
Graeme Revell
Composer (Music Score)
G. Marq Roswell
Musical Direction/Supervision
Adam Swart
Musical Direction/Supervision
Robert Ivison
George Bowers
Brent Thomas
Production Designer
David L. MacLeod
Art Director
Roxanne Methot
Art Director
Bill Bannerman
Marcienne Friesland
Associate Producer
Keith Samples
Executive Producer
Ashok Amritraj
Set Designer
Nicola Irwin
Set Designer
Louise Roper
Set Decorator
Gersha Phillips
Costume Designer
David L. MacLeod
First Assistant Director
Mick MacKay
First Assistant Director
Paul Mitchnick
Camera Operator
Julian Chojnacki
Camera Operator
Jason Calder
Ken Kirzinger
Mark Aisbett
Mike Dopud
John Wardlow
Owen Walstrom
Ryan Schroeder
Scott Ateah
Sharon Simms
Shawn Beaton
Tanoai Reed
Rick Pearce
Vince Crestejo
Yvette Jackson
Brad Kelly
Shawn Stewart
Christopher Sayour
Claire Webb
Doug Chapman
Gerald Paetz
Gerald Wong
Glenn Ennis
Darryl Scheelar
Coreen Mayrs
Mark Curry
Sound Mixer
Sarah Halley-Finn
Randi Hiller
Heike Brandstatter
Hiram Garcia
Personal Assistant
Howard Blank
Technical Advisor
Andrew Learmonth
Video Assist
Jodi Reavley
Assistant Production Coordinator
Julian Chojnacki
Steadicam Operator
Julie McHaffie
Key Hairstylist
Justin Bergler
Second Assistant Camera
Jason Dryden
Dolly Grip
Jeff Dawn
Department Head Makeup
Jeff Habberstad
Second Unit Director
Jeff Habberstad
Stunts Coordinator
Jendrek Kowalski
Assistant Location Manager
Jennifer Kiefaber
Set Production Assistant
Jenny Madsen
Camera Loader
Adam Parboosingh
Assistant Art Director
Andrew Bock
Assistant Sound Editor
Matt Dubin
Sound Recordist
Matthew Iadarola
Re-Recording Mixer
Megan Basaraba
Third Assistant Director
Michael Ganczarczyk
Personal Assistant
Michael Magill
Dialogue Editor
Michele Perrone
ADR Editor
Kendra Shay Clark
Casting Assistant
Kyle Leydier
Personal Assistant
Lars Ekstrom
Production Sound Mixer
Laura Behary
Post Production Assistant
Leonard Morganti
Storyboard Artist
Linda Yeaney
First Assistant Sound Editor
Vladimir Stefoff
Unit Production Manager
Warren Hanna
Second Assistant Director
Tanya Nordhoff
Assistant Set Decorator
Terry Calhoun
Assistant Chief Lighting Technician
Trevor Holbrook
First Assistant Camera
Trinita Waller
Assistant Properties
Victoria Balharry
Art Department Coordinator
Ben Dietz
Personal Assistant
Stephanie Wander
Personal Assistant
Suzanne Lore
Unit Production Manager
Sara LaCava
Casting Assistant
Ashley Revell
Music Editor
Patrick Stepien
First Assistant Camera
Jon-Michael Preece
Script Supervisor
Mike Crestejo
Stunts Coordinator
Mike Gardner
Boom Operator
Mort Briskin
From Screenplay by
Paul Millspaugh
First Assistant Editor
Pearl Louie
Key Make-up
Rachel Solow
Hair Styles
David Franco
Second Unit Director Of Photography
Carolyn Cameron
Assistant Costume Designer
Carolyn Tapp
ADR Recordist
Bob Akester
Still Photographer
Bill Bannerman
Unit Production Manager
Josh Comen
Visual Effects Producer
Tai Duncan
Personal Assistant
Courtney Gross
Casting Associate
Craig Munroe
Dolly Grip
Charles Crossin
Second Assistant Director
Chris Lirette
Set Production Assistant
Chris Navarro
ADR Recordist
Christina Margellos
Production Coordinator
Christine Stringer
Personal Assistant
Christopher Flick
Foley Supervisor
Abraham Fraser
Location Manager
Dwight Durham
Second Assistant Camera
Eric Gotthelf
ADR Mixer
Frederick Heartline
Production Assistant
Garth Longmore
Second Assistant Camera
Gary Burritt
Negative Cutter
Gary Gegan
Re-Recording Mixer
George Macri
Visual Effects Producer
David Linck
Unit Publicist
Dean Goodine
Properties Master
Hamilton Sterling
Sound Effects Editor
Alyson Moore
Foley Artist
Giselle Ponce
Post Production Assistant