Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

A Walk to Remember Details


The best-seller by sentimental novelist Nicholas Sparks becomes this teen melodrama set in a coastal North Carolina port. Cocky, popular high school student Landon Carter (Shane West) is the big man on campus at Beaufort High School until a hazing incident leaves a fellow student paralyzed. Sentenced to community service and membership in his school's drama club, Landon is forced to seek help from Jamie Sullivan (pop singer Mandy Moore), the conservative, religious, plain-Jane daughter of the town's Baptist minister (Peter Coyote). When the two students begin to fall in love, Landon struggles with the drop in popularity that his new friendship brings, while Jamie is forced to deal with her strict father and a secret that she's keeping from her schoolmates. A Walk to Remember, which co-stars Daryl Hannah, is the second of Sparks's novels to make it to the big screen after Message in a Bottle (1999). ~ Karl Williams, Rovi

  • Release date:January 25, 2002


Mandy Moore
as Jamie Sullivan
Shane West
as Landon Carter
Peter Coyote
as Rev. Sullivan
Daryl Hannah
as Cynthia Carter
Lauren German
as Belinda
Clayne Crawford
as Dean
Al Thompson
as Eric
Paz de la Huerta
as Tracie
Jonathan Parks Jordan
as Walker
Matt Lutz
as Clay Gephardt
David Andrews
as Mr. Kelly
David Lee Smith
as Dr. Carter
Julia Ann West
as Church lady
Seth Howard
as Maitre D'
Elaine Caswell
as Choir singer
Kevin Osborne
as Choir singer
Nikki Gregoroff
as Choir singer
Jason Paige
as Choir singer
Anne Fletcher
as School play dancer
Marisa Miller
as Ms. Garber
Diva Gray
as Choir singer
Dean Mumford
as Policeman
Cassidy Ladden
as Choir singer
Xavier Hernandez
as Luis
Dino Muccio
as Choir singer
Mervyn Warren
as Pianist
Gordon Groddy
as Choir singer
Vivian Cherry
as Choir singer


Adam Shankman
Hunt Lowry
Denise Di Novi
Karen Janszen
Nicholas Sparks
Book Author
Julio Macat
Mervyn Warren
Composer (Music Score)
Mervyn Warren
Emma E. Hickox
Doug Hall
Production Designer
Linwood Taylor
Art Director
Matthew Mizel
Associate Producer
E.K. Gaylord II
Executive Producer
Edward L. McDonnell
Executive Producer
Casey La Scala
Executive Producer
Burton Rencher
Set Designer
Kevin Hardison
Set Designer
Doug Hall
Costume Designer
Burton Rencher
Set Decorator
Dino Muccio
Dale Frye
Kay Kimler
Carl Rudisill
Sound Mixer
Fincannon & Associates
"Jungle" Jim Shaughnessy
Chris David
Re-Recording Mixer
Coni Andress
Hair Styles
Cristiano Palermi
Doc Kane
ADR Mixer
Doug Kelejian
Assistant Properties
Eric Simkin
Production Assistant
Eric Tomosunas
ADR Mixer
Ezra Dweck
Re-Recording Mixer
Alison Greenspan
Executive in Charge of Production
Gina Baran
Hair Styles
Greg Babor
Production Assistant
Debra Baum
Executive Music Producer
Kent Eanes
Still Photographer
Kathleen Tonkin
Special Effects Coordinator
Larry Brew
Set Dresser
Leanna Sheldon
Casting Associate
Lisa Greenspan
Production Coordinator
Mark Dornfeld
Visual Effects Supervisor
Jussi Tegelman
Sound Editor
Andy Peach
Julian Filiberti
Key Costumer
Anamarie Gonzaga
Production Accountant
Jack Vollers
Jason Zorigian
Production Assistant
Jeremy Raub
Music Editor
Joan Zulfer
First Assistant Accountant
Joanne Guthrie
Production Assistant
Timothy M. Bourne
Second Unit Director
Melinda Taksen
Script Supervisor
Bob Berman
Associate Editor
Pat Story
Ashley Sudge
Dolly Grip
Paul Aronoff
ADR Mixer
Randy Tharpe
Rhea Lowenthal
Key Costumer
Rick Mobbs
Storyboard Artist
Rick Pour
Assistant Makeup
Riko Schatke
Best Boy Grip
Rudy Persico
Second Second Assistant Director
Scott Frye
Terry Rodman
Re-Recording Mixer