Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Waking Life Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P99850~Richard Linklater~richardlinklater]] returned to the semi-improvised approach and philosophical themes of his debut feature [[Feature~V45083~Slacker~slacker]] while embracing a new and groundbreaking visual technology in his sixth feature film, Waking Life. [[Performer~P99850~Linklater~richardlinklater]] and cameraman [[Performer~P54793~Tommy Pallotta~tompallotta]] shot the film on location in Austin, TX, using digital video equipment. [[Performer~P99850~Linklater~richardlinklater]] and digital animator [[Performer~P301576~Bob Sabiston~bobsabiston]] then used newly developed computer software to transform the images through a process called "interpolated rotoscoping"; the result merges the naturalism of live action with a stylized look that resembles a cartoon or a painting in motion. Waking Life's flexible, non-narrative approach follows a young man ([[Performer~P76176~Wiley Wiggins~wileywiggins]]) who arrives in Austin and hitches a ride with a stranger, who engages him in a conversation about rarely considered facets of existentialism. As the visitor drifts through the city, he encounters a variety of people and finds himself absorbing their views on art, philosophy, society, and numerous other issues of contemporary life. [[Performer~P99850~Linklater~richardlinklater]]'s cast is dotted with well-known actors ([[Performer~P31094~Ethan Hawke~ethanhawke]], [[Performer~P18491~Julie Delpy~juliedelpy]], [[Performer~P27423~Adam Goldberg~adamgoldberg]], [[Performer~P37063~Nicky Katt~nickykatt]]) and pop-culture notables (filmmaker [[Performer~P112040~Steven Soderbergh~stevensoderbergh]], [[Performer~P110533~Martin Scorsese~martinscorsese]] associate [[Performer~P57855~Steven Prince~stevenprince]], comic [[Performer~P6432~Louis Black~louisblack]]), alongside a large number of relatively little-known players. Waking Life received its world premiere at the 2001 Sundance Film Festival; [[Performer~P99850~Linklater~richardlinklater]]'s next film, [[Feature~V235123~Tape~tape]], was also screened at the same festival. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:October 17, 2001

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Venice International Film Festival Richard Linklater Special Mention 2001 Winner
Venice International Film Festival Richard Linklater CinemAvvenire Award for Best Film in Competition 2001 Winner
Independent Spirit Awards Richard Linklater Best Director 2001 Nominee
Independent Spirit Awards Richard Linklater Best Screenplay 2001 Nominee
American Film Institute Bob Sabiston Best Digital Effects 2001 Nominee

Crew

Richard Linklater
Director
Tom Pallotta
Producer
Palmer West
Producer
Jonah Smith
Producer
Anne Walker-McBay
Producer
Richard Linklater
Screenwriter
Richard Linklater
Cinematographer
Tom Pallotta
Cinematographer
Glover Gill
Composer (Music Score)
Sandra Adair
Editor
Bob Sabiston
Art Director
Caroline Kaplan
Executive Producer
John Sloss
Executive Producer
Jonathan Sehring
Executive Producer
Wayne Bell
Sound/Sound Designer
Bryan Pennington
Consultant/advisor
Bob Sabiston
Animator
Chris Minley
Animator
Constance Wood
Animator
Dan Gillotte
Animator
Divya Srinivasan
Animator
Eric Power
Animator
Randy Cole
Animator
Wiley Wiggins
Animator
Shannon Pearson
Animator
Susan Sabiston
Animator
Pat Falconer
Animator
Penny Van Horn
Animator
Kate Dollenmayer
Animator
Katie Salen
Animator
Jason Archer
Animator
Jennifer Drummond
Animator
John Bruch
Animator
Mary Varn
Animator
Matthew Langland
Animator
Michael Layne
Animator
Jeffrey Schwan
Stunts
Bobby Sargent
Stunts
Ethan Andrus
Sound Mixer
Lizzie Curry Martinez
Casting
Matthew Fliehler
Grip
Mike Brennan
Boom Operator
Arthur Blum
Grip
Laine Bateman
Production Assistant
Lindsay Doleshal
Casting Assistant
Peter Atherton
Location Manager
Wayne Bell
Sound Editor
Larry Blake
Re-Recording Mixer
Bob Sabiston
Animation Director
Gregg Barbanell
Foley Artist
Erin Ferguson
Production Coordinator
Kelly Williams
Production Assistant
Charlotte Wood
Casting Assistant
Advertisement