Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Village Details


M. Night Shyamalan, the creative mind behind M. Night Shyamalan and M. Night Shyamalan, wrote and directed this characteristically atmospheric thriller. The rustic village of Covington is a small town in rural Pennsylvania that is home to 60 souls. The citizens of Covington lead a quiet and peaceful life, but not without an unusual caveat -- terrible creatures lurk just outside the borders of the village, and the people of Covington have reached an agreement of sorts with the beasts, in which they are allowed to go about their business as long as they never cross the village's boundaries. However, this precarious balance is upset when a headstrong young man, Lucius Hunt (Joaquin Phoenix), decides to find out what lies outside Covington, and unwittingly invites the wrath of the creatures upon the town. The Village also stars Sigourney Weaver, William Hurt, Adrien Brody, Judy Greer, and Bryce Dallas Howard; both Kirsten Dunst and Ashton Kutcher were at one time attached to the project, but both left the cast before filming began. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:July 30, 2004


Awarded by
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences James Newton Howard Best Score 2004 Nominee


Joaquin Phoenix
as Lucius Hunt
Bryce Dallas Howard
as Ivy Walker
Adrien Brody
as Noah Percy
William Hurt
as Edward Walker
Sigourney Weaver
as Alice Hunt
Brendan Gleeson
as August Nicholson
Cherry Jones
as Mrs. Clack
Jayne Atkinson
as Tabitha Walker
Judy Greer
as Kitty Walker
Fran Kranz
as Christop Crane
Michael Pitt
as Finton Coin
Celia Weston
as Vivian Percy
John Jones
as Robert Percy
Frank Collison
as Victor
Jesse Eisenberg
as Jamison
Charlie McDermott
as Boy


M. Night Shyamalan
M. Night Shyamalan
Sam Mercer
Scott Rudin
M. Night Shyamalan
Roger Deakins
James Newton Howard
Composer (Music Score)
Christopher Tellefsen
Tom Foden
Production Designer
Chris Shriver
Art Director
Tim Beach
Art Director
Michael Manson
Supervising Art Director
Josef Rodriguez
Associate Producer
Jose L. Rodriguez
Associate Producer
Larry Dias
Set Designer
Ann Roth
Costume Designer
Frank Eulner
Sound/Sound Designer
Steve Boeddeker
Sound/Sound Designer
Syd Dutton
Special Effects
Bill Taylor
Special Effects
John Rusk
First Assistant Director
Douglas Aibel
Frank Eulner
Supervising Sound Editor
Mark Indig
Unit Production Manager
Steve Boeddeker
Supervising Sound Editor
Jeff Habberstad
Stunts Coordinator
Steve Cremin
Special Effects Supervisor
Brick Mason
Second Unit Director