Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Village of the Damned Details


This film is a remake of the classic 1960 science-fiction thriller, Village of the Damned, which was based on the novel The Midwich Cuckoos by John Wyndham. Veteran horror director John Carpenter is at the helm this time, with Christopher Reeve replacing George Sanders in the starring role. Aliens put the entire village of Midwich to sleep for 24 hours and impregnate many women. Reeve plays Alan Chaffee, the town doctor, whose wife Barbara (Karen Kahn) is one of the women carrying an alien baby. Visiting scientist Dr. Susan Verner (Kristie Alley) is monitoring the situation for the government. She supervises a mass birthing in a barn. The children turn out to be white-haired, glassy-eyed, and telepathic. Their plan is to use their supernatural powers to kill the villagers and help the aliens take over, and only Chaffee and Verner can stop them. ~ Michael Betzold, Rovi

  • Release date:December 7, 1960


Christopher Reeve
as Alan Chaffee
Kirstie Alley
as Dr. Susan Verner
Linda Kozlowski
as Jill McGowan
Michael Paré
as Frank McGowan
Meredith Salenger
as Melanie Roberts
Mark Hamill
as Rev. George
Ron Kaell
as Trooper #2
Thomas Dekker
as David
Squire Fridell
as The Sheriff
Alice Barden
as Woman at Town Hall
Michael Halton
as Station Attendant Harold
John Carpenter
as Man at Phone Booth
Peter Jason
as Ben Blum
Constance Forslund
as Callie Blum
Sharon Iwai
as Eye Doctor
Steve Chambers
as Trooper #1
George "Buck" Flower
as Carlton
Pippa Pearthree
as Mrs. Sarah Miller
Karen Kahn
as Barbara Chaffee
Lane Nishikawa
as Scientist
Ed Corbett
as Older Deputy
Abigail van Alyn
as Nurse #1
Julie Eccles
as Eileen Moore
Darryl Jones
as CHP
Roy Conrad
as Oliver


John Carpenter
Sandy King
Michael Preger
David Himmelstein
Gary B. Kibbe
John Carpenter
Composer (Music Score)
Edward Warschilka
Rodger Maus
Production Designer
Christa Munro
Art Director
David Chackler
Sean Daniel
James Jacks
Andre Blay
Executive Producer
Ted Vernon
Executive Producer
Shep Gordon
Executive Producer
Thomas D. Causey
Sound/Sound Designer
Bruce Nicholson
Special Effects
Jeff Imada
Reuben Cannon