Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

A View from the Bridge Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A View from the Bridge is set in New York, but the alleged political undesirability of playwright [[Performer~P212205~Arthur Miller~arthurmiller]] dictated that this film be lensed in France. Director [[Performer~P100370~Sidney Lumet~sidneylumet]] shot the film in both English and French, with the English version sounding more recited than acted at times. [[Performer~P72713~Raf Vallone~rafvallone]] plays Eddie Carbone, a tough Italian-American longshoreman living in Brooklyn with his wife Beatrice Carbone ([[Performer~P67653~Maureen Stapleton~maureenstapleton]]), and her comely niece, Catherine ([[Performer~P40905~Carol Lawrence~carollawrence]]) -- to whom he feels an overwhelming yet undeclared attraction. Then two illegal immigrants, Rodolpho and Marco ([[Performer~P66921~Jean Sorel~jeansorel]] and [[Performer~P55837~Raymond Pellegrin~raymondpellegrin]]), turn up, and rage builds in Eddie when he senses a burgeoning, mutual attraction between Rodolpho and Catherine. To divert suspicions of his own incestuous desires, he first declares Rodolpho a homosexual, then does everything in his power to ensure that Rodolpho and Marco are deported - thus setting the film up for a surprisingly grisly and shocking climax. The film is more commonly remembered today for a "shocking" set piece, in which Eddie kisses Rodolpho full on the lips to "prove" that the boy is gay. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Raf Vallone
as Eddie Carbone
Jean Sorel
as Rodolpho
Maureen Stapleton
as Beatrice Carbone
Raymond Pellegrin
as Marco
Morris Carnovsky
as Mr. Alfier
Vincent Gardenia
as Lipari
Mickey Knox
as Louis
Harvey Lembeck
as Mike
Frank Campanella
as Longshoreman

Crew

Sidney Lumet
Director
Paul Graetz
Producer
Arthur Miller
Screenwriter
Arthur Miller
Play Author
Maurice LeRoux
Composer (Music Score)
Francoise Javet
Editor
Jacques Saulnier
Art Director
Advertisement