Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Vidal Sassoon: The Movie Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P388385~Vidal Sassoon~vidalsassoon]] is the world's best-known hairdresser, and one who radically changed the way many people thought about hair styling when he rose to fame in the 1960s. But [[Performer~P388385~Sassoon~vidalsassoon]] had already lived a remarkable and adventurous life before his geometric "wash and wear" hair styles became all the rage in Swinging London. Born in England to Jewish parents, he was part of a British anti-fascist group called the 43 Group, who battled organized anti-Semitism in the wake of World War II, and when his family relocated to Israel, he fought in the 1948 Arab-Israeli War as part of the Israeli Defense Force. In the 1950s, [[Performer~P388385~Sassoon~vidalsassoon]] returned to England and began pursuing a career cutting women's hair. Within a decade, his Bond Street salon would become a sensation, and after creating distinctive styles for such stars as [[Performer~P22809~Mia Farrow~miafarrow]] and [[Performer~P39682~Nancy Kwan~nancykwan]], he became the most famous and influential man in his field. As his shop turned into a franchise and he launched a successful line of hair-care products, [[Performer~P388385~Sassoon~vidalsassoon]] proved he was a shrewd businessman as well as an artist, but despite finding fame and wealth his life has been marked by both triumph and tragedy. Filmmaker [[Performer~P655086~Craig Teper~craigteper]] offers a look into the public and private life of a man who "changed the world with a pair of scissors" in the documentary Vidal Sassoon: The Movie. Featuring exclusive interviews with [[Performer~P164038~Mary Quant~maryquant]], [[Performer~P657054~Michael Gordon~michaelgordon]], and [[Performer~P605225~William Claxton~williamclaxton]] as well as [[Performer~P388385~Sassoon~vidalsassoon]] and his family, Vidal Sassoon: The Movie received its world premiere at the 2010 Tribeca Film Festival. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:February 11, 2011
Advertisement