Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Varsity Blues Details


In his first feature following the success of television's Dawson's Creek, James Van Der Beek stars as Jonathan Moxon, the back-up quarterback on his high-school football team, the West Canaan Coyotes. In West Canaan, the only thing that matters is football, and the man who matters is the one with 22 divisional championships, coach Bud Kilmer (Jon Voight). Mox, as the young "A" student is called, is wrapping up his senior year on his way to Brown University in the shadow of his childhood friend, star quarterback Lance Harbor (Paul Walker). With only five games until the end of the season, Kilmer pushes his players too hard, and Lance suffers a career-ending injury, forcing Mox to play and win the game. Now the starter, Mox must deal with his newfound celebrity; the attentions of Lance's girlfriend, head-cheerleader Darcy (Ali Larter); prevent his friends and fellow players Billy Bob (Ron Lester) and Tweeder (Scott Caan) from self-destructing; prevent Coach Kilmer from crushing everybody; and hold on to his own girlfriend, Lance's sister Jules (Amy Smart). Oh, and Mox must also win the championship and prove himself the hero. ~ Ron Wells, Rovi

  • Release date:January 15, 1999


James Van Der Beek
as Jonathan "Mox" Moxon
Jon Voight
as Coach Bud Kilmer
Paul Walker
as Lance Harbor
Ron Lester
as Billy Bob
Scott Caan
as Tweeter
Richard Lineback
as Joe Harbor
Amy Smart
as Julie Harbor
Eliel Swinton
as Wendell
Thomas F. Duffy
as Sam Moxon
Joe Pichler
as Kyle Moxon
Ali Larter
as Darcy
Tonie Perensky
as Miss Davis
Jesse Plemons
as Tommy Harbor


Brian Robbins
Brian Robbins
Mike Tollin
W. Peter Iliff
Gary Calamar
Musical Direction/Supervision
Mark Isham
Composer (Music Score)
G. Marq Roswell
Musical Direction/Supervision
Ned Bastille
Jaymes Hinkle
Production Designer
Keith Donnelly
Art Director
Herbert W. Gains
Ruben Hostka
Elysa Koplovitz
Associate Producer
David Gale
Executive Producer
Van Toffler
Executive Producer
Tad Smalley
Set Designer
Wendy Chuck
Costume Designer
Albert M. Shapiro
First Assistant Director
George Fortmuller
First Assistant Director
Sarah Halley-Finn