Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Vamp Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Predating the 1990s cycle of vampire-stripper films ([[Feature~V135472~From Dusk Till Dawn~fromdusktilldawn]], [[Feature~V136480~Bordello of Blood~talesfromthecryptpresentsbordelloofblood]], etc.) this cynical entry from director [[Performer~P116417~Richard Wenk~richardwenk]] concerns frat boys looking for a go-go girl to perform at their upcoming party. Wandering to the wrong side of town, the randy youths enter a seedy strip joint populated by vampires. [[Performer~P36108~Grace Jones~gracejones]] is the nasty ringleader, Katrina, who acknowledges the film's debt to Hammer's [[Feature~V52167~Vampire Circus~vampirecircus]] by performing an erotic dance painted in zebra-stripes. Among the heroes, co-star [[Performer~P62171~Robert Rusler~robertrusler]] is far more interesting than the bland lead ([[Performer~P44756~Chris Makepeace~chrismakepeace]]), while [[Performer~P74898~Gedde Watanabe~geddewatanabe]] manages to be both unfunny and offensive by turning in the most ridiculously stereotyped Asian performance since [[Performer~P116130~John Wayne~johnwayne]] assayed Genghis Khan in [[Feature~V10797~The Conqueror~theconqueror]]. This is the least of the comedic vampire films that came out in the mid-'80s, and although [[Performer~P20039~Billy Drago~billydrago]] is menacing as the evil Snow and [[Performer~P212637~Greg Cannom~gregcannom]]'s special effects are striking, Vamp remains unfunny and not frightening in the least. Famed female bodybuilder [[Performer~P144912~Lisa Lyon~lisalyon]] appears as a stripper named Cinnamon, and [[Performer~P56465~Dedee Pfeiffer~dedeepfeiffer]], [[Performer~P58120~Hy Pyke~hypyke]], and [[Performer~P7703~Simmy Bow~simmybow]] are among the recognizable supporting cast. ~ Robert Firsching, Rovi

  • Release date:July 18, 1986

Cast

Chris Makepeace
as Keith
Sandy Baron
as Vic
Robert Rusler
as A.J.
DeDee Pfeiffer
as Amaretto
Gedde Watanabe
as Duncan
Grace Jones
as Katrina
Billy Drago
as Snow
Brad Logan
as Vlad
Lisa Lyon
as Cimmaron
Robin Kaufman
as Little Girl
Naomi Shohan
as Bartendress
Stuart Rogers
as Student
Adam Barth
Ray Ballard
as Coffee Shop Proprietor
Tricia Brown
as Candi
Andy Rivas
as Police
Greg Finley
Janeen Davis
as Bartendress
Hilary Carlip
as Jess
Greg Lewis
as Bus Driver
Tanya Papanicolas
as Waitress
Jan Rabson
Thomas Bellin
as Shorty
Leila Hee Olsen
as Seko
Deborah Fallender
Jim Boyle
as Fraternity Leader
Trudel Williams
as Dragon Girl
Ytossie Patterson
Bob Schott
as Gang Leader
Gary Swailes
as Sock Salesman
Bryan Michael McGuire
as Pool Player
Roger Hampton
as Police
David McCharen
Paunita Nichols
as Maven
Francie Swift
as Dominique
Eric Welch
as Student
Dennis Tufano
Cathy Cavadini
Hy Pyke
as Desk Clerk
Larry Spinak
as Student
Marilyn Schreffler
Bill Morphew
as Dragon
Julius Le Flore
as Garbage Truck Driver
Dar Robinson
as Security Guard
Simmy Bow
as Bum
Mitch Carter
Marlon McGann
as Hard Hat

Crew

Richard Wenk
Director
Donald P. Borchers
Producer
Donald P. Borchers
Screenwriter
Donald P. Borchers
Screen Story
Richard Wenk
Screenwriter
Richard Wenk
Screen Story
Elliot Davis
Cinematographer
Jonathan Elias
Composer (Music Score)
Marc Grossman
Editor
Alan Roderick-Jones
Production Designer
Philip Aja
Art Director
Carol Clements
Art Director
Jarn Heil
Special Effects
Clint Colver
Animator
Jesse Wayne
Stunts
Russell Clark
Choreography
Pamela Westmore
Makeup
Robin Beauchesne
Makeup
Dar Robinson
Stunts Coordinator
Advertisement