Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Unfaithful Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P40350~Diane Lane~dianelane]] is a wayward wife and [[Performer~P26545~Richard Gere~richardgere]] is her suspicious husband in [[Performer~P100466~Adrian Lyne~adrianlyne]]'s Unfaithful. Connie ([[Performer~P40350~Lane~dianelane]]) leaves her suburban home on an errand, venturing into Manhattan during a wicked windstorm. On a trash-strewn Soho street, she literally runs into Paul Martel ([[Performer~P200431~Olivier Martinez~oliviermartinez]]), a handsome young Frenchman carrying a huge stack of books. Connie has a bad scrape on her knee, and is unable to get a cab, so Paul invites her up to his apartment. Paul is quietly flirtatious as he gives Connie some ice and a bandage for her knee. Connie phones home and explains to her son, Charlie ([[Performer~P285121~Erik Per Sullivan~erikpersullivan]]), that she's running late. Before she leaves, Paul gives her a book of Persian poetry, The Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam. She mentions the encounter in passing to Edward ([[Performer~P26545~Gere~richardgere]]), her husband, but it's clear that she's obsessing about Paul, and soon she's back in the city, with a pretext for calling him up. Soon, they are lovers, and they grow bolder and bolder in their passion. Edward begins to suspect, and eventually gets a private investigator ([[Performer~P12771~Dominic Chianese~dominicchianese]] of [[Feature~V186627~The Sopranos~thesopranos[tvseries]]]) to follow Connie. His worst fears confirmed, Edward decides to confront Paul, a decision that will come to haunt him. While the screenplay for Unfaithful is credited to [[Performer~P109892~Alvin Sargent~alvinsargent]] ([[Feature~V36600~Ordinary People~ordinarypeople]]) and [[Performer~P269468~William Broyles Jr.~williambroyles]] ([[Feature~V229030~Cast Away~castaway]]), the inspiration for [[Performer~P100466~Lyne~adrianlyne]]'s film came from [[Performer~P84594~Claude Chabrol~claudechabrol]]'s acclaimed 1969 film [[Feature~V98211~La Femme Infidele~theunfaithfulwife]]. ~ Josh Ralske, Rovi

  • Release date:May 8, 2002

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
National Society of Film Critics Diane Lane Best Actress 2002 Winner
New York Film Critics Circle Diane Lane Best Actress 2002 Winner
Screen Actors Guild Diane Lane Best Actress 2002 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Diane Lane Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Drama 2002 Nominee
Broadcast Film Critics Association Diane Lane Best Actress 2002 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Diane Lane Best Actress 2002 Nominee
Broadcast Film Critics Association Diane Lane Best Actress 2003 Nominee

Cast

Richard Gere
as Edward Sumner
Diane Lane
as Connie Sumner
Olivier Martinez
as Paul Martel
Erik Per Sullivan
as Charlie Sumner
Zeljko Ivanek
as Detective Dean
Dominic Chianese
as Frank Wilson
Kate Burton
as Tracy
Chad Lowe
as Bill Stone
Gary Basaraba
as Detective Mirojnick
Margaret Colin
as Sally

Crew

Adrian Lyne
Director
Adrian Lyne
Producer
Arnold Kopelson
Producer
G. Mac Brown
Producer
Anne Kopelson
Producer
William Broyles
Screenwriter
Alvin Sargent
Screenwriter
Peter Biziou
Cinematographer
Anne V. Coates
Editor
Brian Morris
Production Designer
John Kasarda
Art Director
Pierre-Richard Muller
Executive Producer
Lawrence Steven Meyers
Executive Producer
Arnon Milchan
Executive Producer
Susan Bode-Tyson
Set Designer
Ellen Mirojnick
Costume Designer
Alan Rankin
Sound/Sound Designer
Vebe Borge
First Assistant Director
Kerry Barden
Casting
Mark Bennett
Casting
Suzanne Smith
Casting
Billy Hopkins
Casting
Michael Dennison
Costumes Supervisor
Richard Rutkowski
Additional Cinematography
Wylie Stateman
Supervising Sound Editor
Advertisement