Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Under Capricorn Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Returning to his old Elstree Studios headquarters in England, [[Performer~P94487~Alfred Hitchcock~alfredhitchcock]] did his best with [[Performer~P15864~Hume Cronyn~humecronyn]]'s adaptation of the [[Performer~P177407~James Bridie~jamesbridie]] novel [[Feature~V51710~Under Capricorn~undercapricorn]]. Costume drama was never Hitchcock's forte, as proven by his disappointing [[Feature~V25774~Jamaica Inn~jamaicainn]] (1939), but [[Feature~V8071~Capricorn~capricornone]] does have its moments. Set in Australia in the early 19th century, the film concerns the tribulations of Lady Henrietta ([[Performer~P5652~Ingrid Bergman~ingridbergman]]), who was driven out of her home in disgrace after eloping with unkempt stableman Sam Flusky ([[Performer~P15270~Joseph Cotten~josephcotten]]). Accused of the murder of Henrietta's brother, Flusky has been transported to Australia, where he starts life anew as a prosperous businessman, even while his wife descends further and further into alcoholism and self-hatred. When her cousin Charles Adare ([[Performer~P76270~Michael Wilding~michaelwildingsr]]) comes to visit, Henrietta falls in love with him; she also confides that it was she, and not Flusky, who was responsible for her brother's death. The operatic climax finds Lady Henrietta doing the "right thing" at the cost of her own happiness. At times ponderously directed, the film comes explosively to life whenever [[Performer~P41693~Margaret Leighton~margaretleighton]], cast as Lady Henrietta's spiteful housekeeper, dominates the scene. On a technical level, [[Feature~V51710~Under Capricorn~undercapricorn]] is distinguished by the same "ten-minute takes" that Hitchcock had utilized in [[Feature~V42101~Rope~rope]]; particularly effective is an uninterrupted dialogue sequence, played against the backdrop of a spectacular Technicolor sunset (courtesy cinematographer [[Performer~P84123~Jack Cardiff~jackcardiff]]). ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:September 8, 1949

Cast

Ingrid Bergman
as Lady Henrietta Flusky
Joseph Cotten
as Sam Flusky
Michael Wilding, Sr.
as Hon. Charles Adare
Margaret Leighton
as Milly
Cecil Parker
as Sir Richard, the tutor
Denis O'Dea
as Corrigan, attorney-general
Jack Watling
as Winter, Flusky's secretary
Harcourt Williams
as Coachman
John Ruddock
as Mr. Potter
Bill Shine
as Mr. Banks
Victor Lucas
as The Reverand Smiley
Ronald Adam
as Mr. Riggs
Olive Sloane
as Sal
Maureen Delaney
as Flo
Julia Lang
as Susan
Lisa Harrow

Crew

Alfred Hitchcock
Director
Alfred Hitchcock
Producer
Sidney Bernstein
Producer
Helen Simpson
Book Author
James Bridie
Screenwriter
Hume Cronyn
Screenwriter
Jack Cardiff
Cinematographer
Louis Levy
Musical Direction/Supervision
Bert Bates
Editor
Tom Morahan
Production Designer
Tom Morahan
Art Director
Roger Furse
Costume Designer
Peter Handford
Sound/Sound Designer
Advertisement