Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: Now

Under African Skies Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

On the 25th anniversary of [[Performer~P111574~Paul Simon~paulsimon]]'s {^Graceland}, acclaimed documentary filmmaker [[Performer~P81589~Joe Berlinger~joeberlinger]] offers a glimpse at the controversy surrounding the decision to record the album in South Africa despite a UN boycott of the nation, which was aimed at ending apartheid. In the run-up to an eagerly anticipated reunion concert, [[Performer~P111574~Simon~paulsimon]], [[Performer~P96353~Quincy Jones~quincyjones]], [[Performer~P90813~Peter Gabriel~petergabriel]], [[Performer~P83754~David Byrne~davidbyrne]], [[Performer~P5054~Harry Belafonte~harrybelafonte]], [[Performer~P101966~Paul McCartney~paulmccartney]] and others reflect on the decision to record with local artists in South Africa, and the cultural impact of the album that delivered such hits as "I Know What I Know" and "You Can Call Me Al." ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:May 11, 2012
Advertisement