Share

Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Uncle Buck Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

In this cheerful, lightweight comedy, excruciatingly clumsy, disorganized, and messy Uncle Buck Russell ([[Performer~P10608~John Candy~johncandy]]) becomes the screens most unlikely babysitter since [[Performer~P75151~Clifton Webb~cliftonwebb]] in [[Feature~V110423~Sitting Pretty~sittingpretty]]. While their parents are away, eight-year old Miles ([[Performer~P16081~Macaulay Culkin~macaulayculkin]]), six-year old Maizy (Gaby Hoffman) and their teen-aged sister, Tia ([[Performer~P37525~Jean Kelly~jeanlouisakelly]]) are left in the care of Buck. Surprisingly, the very inept Uncle Buck entertains the younger children who come to love him and earns the respect of Tia when he rescues her from her worthless boyfriend. However, in doing so, Buck nearly loses his long-time girlfriend Chanice ([[Performer~P44507~Amy Madigan~amymadigan]]). [[Performer~P10608~John Candy~johncandy]] is delightful in the leading role giving a touching and notable comic performance. Directed by [[Performer~P227953~John Hughes~johnhughes]] in his typical broad style, this youth-oriented comedy is perhaps the best role of [[Performer~P10608~John Candy~johncandy]]'s regrettably brief career. ~ Linda Rasmussen, Rovi

  • Release date:August 16, 1989

Cast

John Candy
as Uncle Buck Russell
Amy Madigan
as Chanice Kobolowski
Jean Louisa Kelly
as Tia Russell
Gaby Hoffmann
as Maizy Russell
Macaulay Culkin
as Miles Russell
Elaine Bromka
as Cindy Russell
Laurie Metcalf
as Marcie Dahlgren-Frost
Jay Underwood
as Bug
Ron Payne
as Maizy's Teacher
Gigi Casler
as Party Girl in Bedroom
Joel Robinson
as Miles' Friend
Julie Payne
Zak Spector
as Mechanic
Laura Jacoby
Wayne Kneeland
as Party Boy
Colin Baumgartner
as Miles' Friend
Anna Chlumsky
as School Child
Patricia Arquette
Mark Rosenthal
as Party Boy
Jane Vickerilla
as Teacher
William Windom
as Mr. Hatfield
Jack Blessing
Leigh French
Dennis Cockrum
as Pal
Devon Odessa
Suzanne Shepherd
as Mrs. Hogarth
Matt Craven
as Walt Bernstein
Mike Starr
as Pooter-the-Clown
Brian Tarantina
as E. Roger Coswell
Garrett M. Brown
as Bob Russell
Arnold Turner
Gina Doctor
as Party Girl

Crew

John Hughes
Director
John Hughes
Screenwriter
Ralf Bode
Cinematographer
Ira Newborn
Composer (Music Score)
Lou Lombardo
Editor
Peck Prior
Editor
Tony Lombardo
Editor
Doug Kraner
Production Designer
Tom Jacobson
Co-producer
John Hughes
Co-producer
Daniel May
Set Designer
Marilyn Vance
Costume Designer
Jeff Jarvis
Special Effects
Miranda Garrison
Choreography
Advertisement