Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

U2 3D Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Hollywood A-list director [[Performer~P215969~Mark Pellington~markpellington]] ([[Feature~V258955~The Mothman Prophecies~themothmanprophecies]], [[Feature~V174364~Arlington Road~arlingtonroad]]) and newcomer [[Performer~P517456~Catherine Owens~catherineowens]] team up to break new cinematic ground by co-helming U2 3D -- the first three-dimensional concert film in movie history. The effort intercuts footage culled from several [[Performer~P72339~U2~u2]] shows on their 2005-2006 Vertigo tour in Mexico City and Buenos Aires, Argentina, with [[Performer~P7314~Bono~bono]], [[Performer~P21164~The Edge~theedge]], [[Performer~P13552~Adam Clayton~adamclayton]], and [[Performer~P51283~Larry Mullen Jr.~larrymullenjr]] performing before rapt audiences. The picture opens with several thematically light rock songs, such as "Beautiful Day" and "Vertigo," but soon segues into more politically conscious material at the hands of social-change advocate [[Performer~P7314~Bono~bono]] and his bandmates, such as the numbers "Bullet the Blue Sky," "Love and Peace or Else," and "Sunday Bloody Sunday"; at one critical point, the Universal Declaration of Human Rights is projected high above the audience. [[Performer~P215969~Pellington~markpellington]], [[Performer~P517456~Owens~catherineowens]], and cinematographers [[Performer~P202309~Tom Krueger~tomkrueger]] and [[Performer~P405068~Peter Anderson~peteranderson]] make frequent use of a roving camera and multi-layered 3-D effects; they also step away from the approach utilized in the band's previous concert film [[Feature~V51537~U2: Rattle and Hum~u2:rattleandhum]] by omitting interviews and focusing exclusively on concert footage. The full version of U2 3D runs 80 minutes; a 56-minute "preview" version ran out of competition at the 2007 Cannes Film Festival. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

  • Release date:January 23, 2008

Crew

Mark Pellington
Director
Catherine Owens
Director
Catherine Owens
Producer
John Modell
Producer
Peter Shapiro
Producer
Jon Shapiro
Producer
Tom Krueger
Cinematographer
Peter Anderson
Cinematographer
Olivier Wicki
Editor
Michael Peyser
Executive Producer
Sandy Climan
Executive Producer
David Modell
Executive Producer
Carl Glanville
Sound/Sound Designer
Carl Glanville
Music Producer
Carl Glanville
Re-Recording Mixer
Skip Lievsay
Re-Recording Mixer
Tim LeBlanc
Re-Recording Mixer
Scott Mednick
Co-Executive Producer
Robbie Adams
Music Producer
Peter Anderson
Visual Effects Supervisor
Advertisement

Other movies like this