Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Two-Lane Blacktop Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A '55 Chevy takes on a '70 GTO in a race across the Southwest in [[Performer~P93972~Monte Hellman~montehellman]]'s cult favorite. The Driver ([[Performer~P113760~James Taylor~jamestaylor]]) and the Mechanic ([[Performer~P76719~Dennis Wilson~denniswilson]]) phlegmatically slouch from race to race, pitting their gray Chevy against any and all gearheads in order to make money for gas and food. They and the tag-along Girl ([[Performer~P6282~Laurie Bird~lauriebird]]) meet their match in "Oh Maybelline" fan GTO ([[Performer~P53739~Warren Oates~warrenoates]]), and they all set off on a cross-country race to Washington D.C., with the winner getting the loser's car. But it isn't the end that really counts; it is the process of getting there, as the Girl's fickleness forces the Driver to decide what matters more: endless races or her. Shot on location from a spare script by [[Performer~P77677~Rudolph Wurlitzer~rudolphwurlitzer]] and [[Performer~P226878~Will Corry~willcorry]], Two-Lane Blacktop was trumpeted as the "film of the year" in Esquire magazine before its release. It bombed, and disputes over music rights kept it from home video until 1999, but repertory and TV screenings have gained it an avid following for its automotive detail, flashes of authentic idiosyncrasy, and artfully abstract examination of the urge to forge ahead, whether or not there is anywhere to go. ~ Lucia Bozzola, Rovi

  • Release date:January 1, 1971

Cast

Warren Oates
as G.T.O.
Laurie Bird
as Girl
Harry Dean Stanton
as Oklahoma Hitchhiker
David Drake
as Station Attendant
Alan Vint
as Man in Roadhouse
Jaclyn Hellman
as Driver's Girl
Rudolph Wurlitzer
as Hot Rod Driver
James Mitchum
as Man at Race Track
George Mitchell
as Driver at Accident
Don Samuels

Crew

Monte Hellman
Director
Michael Laughlin
Producer
Gary Kurtz
Producer
Rudolph Wurlitzer
Screenwriter
Will Corry
Screen Story
Will Corry
Screenwriter
Monte Hellman
Editor
Richard Bruno
Costume Designer
Ken Swor
First Assistant Director
Bill James
Supervisor/Manager
Advertisement