Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Turn the River Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A woman struggles to win back the son she lost when she divorced her husband in a gritty drama that marks the directorial debut of actor [[Performer~P531892~Chris Eigeman~chriseigerman]]. Kailey ([[Performer~P35232~Famke Janssen~famkejanssen]]) is a woman who makes her living playing high-stakes poker and hustling pool, a trade she learned from her longtime friend Quinn ([[Performer~P114388~Rip Torn~riptorn]]). Kailey's rough-and-tumble life drove a wedge between her and her husband, David ([[Performer~P228612~Matt Ross~mattross]]), and when they split up he won custody of their son, Gulley ([[Performer~P497569~Jaymie Dornan~jaymiedornan]]). However, while David was seemingly the sober and respectable one in their relationship, in truth he's a heavy drinker whose life is controlled by his wealthy, bullying mother, Abigail ([[Performer~P66486~Lois Smith~loissmith]]). Gulley is unhappy living with David, and unbeknown to his father the boy has been corresponding with Kailey as they plan to start a new life together in Canada. However, Kailey is unable to get legitimate papers for herself and her son, so she heads to New York City to raise the 50,000 dollars she'll need to get passports on the black market. Turn the River also stars [[Performer~P215503~Marin Hinkle~marinhinkle]], [[Performer~P343587~John Juback~johnjuback]], and [[Performer~P38417~Terry Kinney~terrykinney]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:May 9, 2008

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Independent Spirit Awards Amy Armstrong John Cassavetes Award 2008 Nominee
Independent Spirit Awards Christopher Eigeman John Cassavetes Award 2008 Nominee

Crew

Christopher Eigeman
Director
Amy Armstrong
Producer
Christopher Eigeman
Screenwriter
Hernan Michael Otano
Cinematographer
Clogs
Composer (Music Score)
Bryce Dessner
Composer (Music Score)
Padma Newsome
Composer (Music Score)
Paola Ridolfi
Production Designer
Gary Giudice
Co-producer
Richard Fitzgerald
Executive Producer
Catherine Kellner
Executive Producer
Douglas Schmidt
Executive Producer
Christopher Eigeman
Executive Producer
Darby Parker
Executive Producer
Erika Munro
Costume Designer
Chen Harpaz
Sound/Sound Designer
Todd Thaler
Casting
Advertisement