Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

True Romance Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P113658~Quentin Tarantino~quentintarantino]] scripted this wild and wooly blend of action and dark comedy, which reached theaters a year before his breakthrough hit [[Feature~V131235~Pulp Fiction~pulpfiction]]. Clarence Worley ([[Performer~P66187~Christian Slater~christianslater]]) is a well-meaning but socially unskilled comic-shop clerk whose idea of a big night out is catching a [[Performer~P12789~Sonny Chiba~sonnychiba]] triple-feature at a downtown grindhouse. Clarence is celebrating his birthday in just such a manner when he meets a beautiful girl named Alabama ([[Performer~P2423~Patricia Arquette~patriciaarquette]]), and it's love at first sight for both of them. Clarence's enthusiasm isn't dampened much when he discovers Alabama is actually a prostitute who was paid by his boss to bump into him; she's only been in the business for a few days, and is more than eager to give up streetwalking to be with Clarence. However, Alabama is certain her pimp, Drexl ([[Performer~P53946~Gary Oldman~garyoldman]]), will not be happy; he's an ill-mannered sort with mob connections and a fondness for violence. Chivalrous Clarence offers to break the news to Drexl and collect her belongings, but he doesn't tell her he also plans to kill Drexl while he's there; a melee breaks out that leaves Drexl and his henchmen dead. Clarence grabs a suitcase that he thinks contains Alabama's clothes, but he discovers it instead holds five million dollars' worth of cocaine. The couple hits the road for California, planning to sell the dope and enjoy the good life in South America with the proceeds, but soon a group of very unhappy underworld characters are after them, as well as the police. True Romance also stars [[Performer~P94825~Dennis Hopper~dennishopper]] as Clarence's father, [[Performer~P74206~Christopher Walken~christopherwalken]] as a mob boss who wants his cocaine back, [[Performer~P56988~Brad Pitt~bradpitt]] as a cheerful stoner, and [[Performer~P38142~Val Kilmer~valkilmer]] as the ghost of [[Performer~P107032~Elvis Presley~elvispresley]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:September 10, 1993

Cast

Christian Slater
as Clarence Worley
Patricia Arquette
as Alabama Worley
Dennis Hopper
as Clifford Worley
Gary Oldman
as Drexl Spivey
Brad Pitt
as Floyd - Dick's Roomate
Christopher Walken
as Vincenzo Coccotti
Val Kilmer
as Mentor
Bronson Pinchot
as Elliot Blitzer
Michael Rapaport
as Dick Ritchie
Saul Rubinek
as Lee Donowitz
Chris Penn
as Nick Dimes
Tom Sizemore
as Cody Nicholson
Samuel L. Jackson
as Big Don
Anna Levine
as Lucy
Paul Bates
as Marty
Risa Bramon Garcia
Steve Gonzales
as L.A. Officer
Said Faraj
as Burger Man
Eric Allan Kramer
as Boris
James Gandolfini
as Virgil
Victor Argo
as Lenny
Gregory Sporleder
as Burger Stand Customer
Kevin Corrigan
as Marvin
Joe D'Angerio
as Police Radio Operator
Michael Beach
as Wurlitzer
Conchata Ferrell
as Mary Louise Ravencroft
Maria Pitillo
as Kandi
Paul Ben-Victor
as Luca
Billy Hopkins
Frank Adonis
as Frankie
John Cenatiempo
as 1st Squad Cop

Crew

Tony Scott
Director
Steve Perry
Producer
Gary Barber
Producer
Samuel Hadida
Producer
Bill Unger
Producer
Quentin Tarantino
Screenwriter
Jeffrey Kimball
Cinematographer
Hans Zimmer
Composer (Music Score)
Mark Mancina
Composer (Music Score)
Michael Tronick
Editor
James Murakami
Art Director
James W. Skotchdopole
Co-producer
Bob Weinstein
Executive Producer
James G. Robinson
Executive Producer
Harvey Weinstein
Executive Producer
Gary Barber
Executive Producer
Stan Margulies
Executive Producer
Thomas Roysden
Set Designer
William B. Kaplan
Sound/Sound Designer
Billy Hopkins
Casting
Risa Bramon Garcia
Casting
Charlie Picerni
Stunts Coordinator
Advertisement