Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Trouble with Harry Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The trouble with Harry is that he's dead. The scene is a autumnal Vermont village, where a pre-[[Feature~V158618~Leave It to Beaver~leaveittobeaver]] [[Performer~P46370~Jerry Mathers~jerrymathers]] stumbles upon Harry's corpse in the woods. [[Performer~P46370~Mathers~jerrymathers]] alerts his mother [[Performer~P44255~Shirley MacLaine~shirleymaclaine]] (making her film debut), who recognizes Harry as her ex-husband. Later on, retired sea captain [[Performer~P29391~Edmund Gwenn~edmundgwenn]] likewise comes across the moribund Harry. Both MacLaine and [[Performer~P29391~Gwenn~edmundgwenn]] have reason to believe that they're responsible for Harry's demise; MacLaine thinks that she killed Harry by clobbering him with a bottle, while [[Performer~P29391~Gwenn~edmundgwenn]] is certain that he shot the poor fellow while hunting. As the day draws to a close, seemingly every person in town is convinced that he or she has had some hand in Harry's death, thus they conspire to hide the body from the authorities. Visiting artist [[Performer~P24380~John Forsythe~johnforsythe]], dumbfounded at the calm, collected reactions of the villagers regarding Harry (whose ubiquitous body pops up at the most inopportune moments), solves the "mystery." Though not his most successful film, The Trouble with Harry was one of director [[Performer~P94487~Alfred Hitchcock~alfredhitchcock]]'s favorites. The story's whimsical black-comedy elements are perfectly complemented by [[Performer~P94132~Bernard Herrmann~bernardherrmann]]'s playful music score. Best bit: [[Performer~P51957~Mildred Natwick~mildrednatwick]], coming upon [[Performer~P29391~Gwenn~edmundgwenn]] as the latter is strenuously dragging away Harry's corpse, asking offhandedly "What seems to be the trouble, Captain?" The Trouble With Harry was adapted by [[Performer~P93810~John Michael Hayes~johnmichaelhayes]] from the novel by John Trevor. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:October 3, 1955

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Directors Guild of America Alfred Hitchcock Best Director 1956 Nominee

Cast

Edmund Gwenn
as Capt. Albert Wiles
John Forsythe
as Sam Marlowe, the painter
Shirley MacLaine
as Jennifer Rogers, Harry's Wife
Mildred Natwick
as Miss Graveley
Mildred Dunnock
as Mrs. Wiggs
Jerry Mathers
as Arnie Rogers
Royal Dano
as Calvin Wiggs
Parker Fennelly
as Millionaire
Barry Macollum
as Tramp
Dwight Marfield
as Dr. Greenbow
Philip Truex
as Harry Worp

Crew

Alfred Hitchcock
Director
Alfred Hitchcock
Producer
John Michael Hayes
Screenwriter
Robert Burks
Cinematographer
Bernard Herrmann
Composer (Music Score)
Mack David
Songwriter
Alma Macrorie
Editor
Emile Kuri
Production Designer
Hal Pereira
Art Director
Herbert Coleman
Associate Producer
Emile Kuri
Set Designer
Sam Comer
Set Designer
Edith Head
Costume Designer
Harold Lewis
Sound/Sound Designer
John P. Fulton
Special Effects
Howard Joslin
First Assistant Director
Wally Westmore
Makeup
Advertisement