Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Trouble With the Curve Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

An aging baseball scout ([[Performer~P88601~Clint Eastwood~clinteastwood]]) with failing sight hits the road with his estranged daughter ([[Performer~P273224~Amy Adams~amyadams]]) to pursue a promising young ballplayer, and they learn just how much they have in common as they make their way from Georgia to North Carolina in this sports drama produced and directed by frequent [[Performer~P88601~Eastwood~clinteastwood]] collaborator [[Performer~P222199~Robert Lorenz~robertlorenz]]. For decades, Gus Lobel ([[Performer~P88601~Eastwood~clinteastwood]]) has been one of the best scouts in Major League Baseball. But these days his eyes just aren't what they used to be, and as a phenomenal young batter enters the draft, the owners of the Atlanta Braves cast a shadow of doubt over Gus' judgment. Meanwhile, his daughter Mickey ( Adams) is an aspiring partner at a major Atlanta law firm. In the wake of his wife's death, Gus sent Mickey away, and their relationship has been strained ever since. But she knows a thing or two about baseball, and recognizing that her father's job is in jeopardy, she decides to help him -- even at the risk of derailing her own career. Now, throwing caution to the wind (and ignoring her gruff father's objections), Mickey joins Gus for a scouting trip that could keep him in the game until he's ready to retire, as well as repair a father/daughter relationship that once seemed all but lost. [[Performer~P277738~Justin Timberlake~justintimberlake]], [[Performer~P27679~John Goodman~johngoodman]], [[Performer~P105784~Robert Patrick~robertpatrick]], and [[Performer~P196768~Matthew Lillard~matthewlillard]] co-star. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:September 21, 2012

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
National Board of Review John Goodman Spotlight Award 2012 Winner

Cast

Clint Eastwood
as Gus
Amy Adams
as Mickey
Justin Timberlake
as Johnny
John Goodman
as Pete Klein
Robert Patrick
as Vince
Matthew Lillard
as Phillip Sanderson
Scott Eastwood
as Billy Clark
Matt Bush
as Danny
Chelcie Ross
as Smitty
Ed Lauter
as Max
George Wyner
as Rosenbloom
Bob Gunton
as Watson
Jack Gilpin
as Schwartz
Don Young
as Regular #1
Leon Lamar
as Regular #2
Peter Hermann
as Greg
Eric Mendenhall
as Waiter #2
Jack Lorenz
as Boy in Diner
Kenny Alfonso
as Umpire
Clayton Landey
as Manager
Matt R. Brady
as Swannanoa
Bart Hansard
as Bo's Father
Rus Blackwell
as Rick
Darren Le Gallo
as Nurse
Patricia French
as Diner Waitress
Rhubarb Jones
as Anouncer #2
Tom Nowicki
as Red Sox GM
Mark Thomason
as Braves Official

Crew

Robert Lorenz
Director
Robert Lorenz
Producer
Clint Eastwood
Producer
Michele Weisler
Producer
Tom Stern
Cinematographer
Marco Beltrami
Composer (Music Score)
Joel Cox
Editor
Gary D. Roach
Editor
James Murakami
Production Designer
Gary Fettis
Set Decorator
Deborah Hopper
Costume Designer
Stephen Campanelli
Camera Operator
Geoffrey MiClat
Casting
Walt Martin
Sound Mixer
Patricia Dehaney
Department Head Hair
Gregg Rudloff
Re-Recording Mixer
John Micheletos
Leadman
Holly Hagy
Supervising Production Coordinator
Tyler Kettenburg
Set Dresser
Lonnie Smith
Stunts Coordinator
Paula Case
Second Assistant Director
Michelle Vittone-McNeil
Makeup
Bub Asman
Supervising Sound Editor
Carol O'Connell
Department Head Hair
Mike Sexton
Properties Master
Lisa Yeiser
Graphic Design
Darin Millett
Visual Effects Producer
Deborah Cha Blevins
Costumes Supervisor
Margaret Hungerford
Set Dresser
Pete Anthony
Conductor
Jay Wejebe
Key Make-up
Luisa Abel
Department Head Makeup
Susan Ransom
Makeup
Patrick Mignano
Location Manager
Phil Feiner
Visual Effects Supervisor
John Reitz
Re-Recording Mixer
Advertisement