Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Transylvania Twist Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

In Transylvania Twist, producer [[Performer~P85920~Roger Corman~rogercorman]] and director [[Performer~P117470~Jim Wynorski~jimwynorski]] make [[Performer~P83158~Mel Brooks~melbrooks]] movies look like [[Performer~P86099~Noël Coward~noëlcoward]] drawing-room comedies. The film begins with nubile innocent Patty ([[Performer~P25459~Monique Gabrielle~moniquegabrielle]]) being chasing through the woods by the Greatest Horror Hits of the 1980s --with Jason, Freddy Krueger, and Leatherface all vying for a piece of her. [[Performer~P232065~Robert Vaughn~robertvaughn]] has the hammiest role as a vampire named Lord Byron Orlock. His ravishing niece Marissa ([[Performer~P14893~Teri Copley~tericopley]]), an American singing star, arrives at Lord Byron's castle in Transylvania after the death of her father. Accompanying her is Dexter Ward ([[Performer~P1224~Rick Altman~richardaltman]]), her wise-cracking [[Performer~P53349~Donald O'Connor~donaldoconnor]]-inspired sidekick. What happens next involves a frantic search for a mysterious book that will raise "the evil one" from the dead. The flimsy plot serves as a handy clothesline on to which to hang self-referential parodies of the horror film genre, with time out for some clever editing of an appearance by long-dead [[Performer~P36942~Boris Karloff~boriskarloff]]. ~ Paul Brenner, Rovi

Advertisement